Author Topic: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile  (Read 3366 times)

bloutz

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
[Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« on: January 17, 2009, 02:34:22 pm »
Hello,

I'm a french fan of Chrono Trigger and with friends, we have decided to translate Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile in French. We have almost finished our work.
We have to put accents on the letter it will be long but it's okay.

However we have two problems we would fix and after searching for a while with no success, i've decided to post here to have a little help.
On the two following pictures, I want to fix the bug of the displaying menu. As you can see, when the screen is coming, you can see Weapon but once the window is totally loaded, it displays 'Arme' (translation of weapon in french is Arme). How can i put 'Arme' at the beginning?


Our second problem is with the battle menu.
On the picture you see, HP/MP and we would replace it with PV/PM.

I hope that you'll be able to help us because a lot of french fan are waiting for a traduction and we want to make one which would be the best as possible.
Thanks a lot and sorry for my poor english ^^.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 02:40:01 pm by bloutz »

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8974
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 02:38:16 pm »
Welcome to the Compendium! Wow, this is really awesome. The Prophet's Guile team will be really flattered.

I don't know enough about the first problem, but I'm wondering if "HP" and "MP" are stored as their own graphics in the ROM. In that case, we'd simply have to find a suitable font and make "PV" and "PM" graphics.

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3285
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 02:43:28 pm »
Yes, HP and MP are stored as menu font graphics.  You just have to edit those in Tile Molester.  The "Weapon" text is probably stored in 2 places, you'll need to find the 2nd one in hex.

The one you want is located at 3FC5ED.  Open up the rom in a program called "Translhextion".  You can find this via www.google.com 

Once you have it, open it up and load your Chrono Trigger rom.  Once done, press "Ctrl + g"  then type x3CF5ED.  You should see B6 BE BA C9 C8 C7 change this to A0 CB C6 BE FF FF and you're set for that.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 02:45:38 pm by justin3009 »

Chrono'99

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2009, 03:13:24 pm »
Welcome! It's nice to see Prophet's Guile is crossing borders. I'm French so I could have done the translation myself, I guess, but I've been busy with Crimson Echoes among other things. Anyway, good luck!

hedge

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2009, 03:24:02 pm »
Hi, Guys!
I work on this project with Bloutz too.
Thanks very much for helping us..
It's really amazing to see that Chrono'99 is French!!
We are trying to complete the translation to put it in for our website! :D

Hope one day, one of you guys will be able to mod this rom into a real Cartridge!!

See you soon.

(Can't wait for Chrismon Echoes...)

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2009, 03:36:34 pm »
The chrono community is so hard core I love it. When you guys finish this maybe you'd be interested in translating ce?

Jp

hedge

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2009, 03:45:34 pm »
Oh yeah... we will make it too!

But please! Make it able to put in a Real Cartridge :D

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2009, 03:54:24 pm »
while were not going to program with that in mind I do believe it is possible to port ROM's onto cartridges.  My only fear is that by expanding the rom is could make it incompatible? 

One thing that I am interested in and will actively look into (probably during beta testing stage) is porting the game onto the wii (and maybe other systems).

--JP

bloutz

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2009, 05:23:48 pm »
I would thank you Justin3009 and everyone who help us and encourage us in our project of translating this game!

I've fixed the problem with "weapon" and "arm". Thanks a lot Justin for your fast and your precision ;)

For the second problem, i've noted that in the rom, there is no HP / MP but just the three letter HMP that i've changed in VMP for (PV / PM)
With the table that i've done, i've quoted that A = A0 (in hex) and a = BA.

If i'm right normally the letters HMP as they are placed have respectively the adress 64 65 and 66.

I've tried to search for it with translhexion but with no success. One of my friend told me it might come from the pointers, but i don't know a lot about it. Have you an idea?


justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3285
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2009, 05:43:00 pm »
Change the M that's next to the V, and then save.  It'll show up fine then.

Edit: Ya, the 2 P's hmm...I'm not entirely sure where those little tidbits are...Hang on, let me see if I can find them.

Edit 2: Yea, I've been having troubles finding these little things as well...I was trying to find them months ago and wasn't able to find them.

Edit 3: CFA98 - This is the "MP" icon when you select "Tech"
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 06:12:29 pm by justin3009 »

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1696
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2009, 06:17:47 pm »
This should be where the data is:
Code: [Select]
$C1/02DD A9 64       LDA #$64
$C1/02DF 8D E6 0C    STA $0CE6
$C1/02E2 A9 66       LDA #$66
$C1/02E4 8D E8 0C    STA $0CE8  [$7E:0CE8]
$C1/02E7 8D F0 0C    STA $0CF0
$C1/02EA A9 65       LDA #$65
$C1/02EC 8D EE 0C    STA $0CEE

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3285
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2009, 06:23:51 pm »
Yep, that's right Vehek. 
102DE is "H" in HP
102E3 is both "P"s
102EB is "M" in MP

bloutz

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2009, 08:08:39 pm »
You're just marvellous guys!

i've taken a while to understand the two last posts but i finally understand and the result is incredible!

I thank you a lot! Normally we've no more problem but i know that i can count on people who are very helpful!

The translation should be finished approximatively in a week.

Be sure that you'll be aware!

EDIT: I add that if you can count on us to translate CE for the future ;)

« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 09:56:23 pm by bloutz »

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10593
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2009, 03:15:40 am »
Thanks for the work. It will be awesome to expand the audience for PG through translation like this.

bloutz

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [Translation - French] Chrono Trigger Prophet's Guile
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2009, 09:03:19 am »
I would have another question but if there is no answer i would understand because it's just to make easier our job.

We have included accented letters with tile molester and we have their hex adresses.



If we edit each text with a hex editor it's ok but it's long, so i've tried to use TF and add the letter with their hex adresses in the translation window like that



But i can't change the first three columns and the check box.
Thanks ;)