Author Topic: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)  (Read 1576 times)

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8974
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2009, 01:14:00 am »
Hey V, when you get to the prehistoric era, could you possibly throw a ZSNES savestate or a .SRM file in my direction? I need to recapture footage from a very specific scene and I embarrasingly haven't been keeping an archive of savestates...

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8974
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2009, 01:25:50 am »
Nevermind V, no need for a savestate now. I've figured it out.

V_Translanka

  • Interim Global Moderator
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8325
  • Destroyer of Worlds
    • View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/v_translanka/
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2009, 11:53:31 am »
Ha, alrighty then...Well, now it's Magus' time to shine (i.e. time to Steal from junk!)...! Hmmm...I got that thing where Frog reforced himself in the party when I went to 605AD, so I guess I'll have to use the new patch if I want to mess around there...

Asking the Mirror

Checking out 605AD now...

King Guardia & Renault both refer to Magus as w/e you rename him...as does the old woman NPC in Denadoro's Elder's House and so does the little girl NPC sitting at the table there...  JP NOTE: me z and 99 are deciding what to do for these

Also in the Denadoro Elder's House, the woman at the bookshelf & table refers to Robo as w/e you rename him.  JP NOTE: I don't think it's that out there for people to refer to Robo as what you named him? He's supposed to be the same robo that you played as in CT: orig anyways right?

Quote from: Merchant NPC (Porre Market where Tata was I believe)
Need to put different text based off
decision
  JP NOTE: Bug'd for zeality

Wow, I totally just got stuck when I entered a battle in the Mystic Tunnel...I got into a battle in the middle with the Hench guarding the doorway and it put my lead character inside a wall, so when the battle was over I was stuck...V_V  JP NOTE: Fix'd this I believe (assuming it's the same one FW reported.

Now I'm heading back to 1005AD...

Geeze, does teh Auction House only have Mid Ethers & Dash Rings (admittedly the Dash Rings are useful)...?  JP NOTE: It should be based off level, i can tweak this....maybe it should be based off chapter?  Do you k now how FF6's auction worked?

Okay, onwards to 12001BC!

In the Dreamer's Wing, when you speak to the dreamer on the bed in the upper left, this dialog box shows up before her dream...

Quote
Fourth Dreamer

Schala sleeps with her EYES OPEN...! Freaky.  JP NOTE: yea I yelp every time

The Breaking Point

In the Hunting Range, there's some transparency with the foliage to the left of the chest containing the Full Tonic (in the first area just past the woman NPC). There's also some transparency issues with the foliage to the left of the entry to the northern area.

In that northern area, there's some transparency issues with the tile where the glowing sparkle was that allowed you to throw a rock to get the frog in the tree.

I do not understand the Ceremonial Dance. After I go up, down, up, down, I have no idea what to do...Do I spin in place? How do I spin in place...? I've tried every other glowing sparkle after that, but nothing worked...  JP NOTE: Sorry that's a bug he should have only asked you to dance if Frog was in the lead.  You can try again with frog.

Fuck, the goddamn drum thing is difficult for me for some reason...it might have to do with keeping track of the key config compared to the SNES controller...it might have to do with me not understanding the clues...idk...I figured I'd get it just by changing what I figured each symbol represented, but nothing (process of elimination)...This is too frustrating...I quit.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 02:50:00 am by jsondag2 »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2009, 02:11:09 pm »
Quote
Geeze, does teh Auction House only have Mid Ethers & Dash Rings (admittedly the Dash Rings are useful)...?

It depends on your level, it should eventually change.


Quote
Fuck, the goddamn drum thing is difficult for me for some reason...it might have to do with keeping track of the key config compared to the SNES controller...it might have to do with me not understanding the clues...idk...I figured I'd get it just by changing what I figured each symbol represented, but nothing (process of elimination)...This is too frustrating...I quit.

Hm, i just realized that I have no idea how this puzzle works if you remap "confirm"/"cancel" etc from their original buttons (i realize that's now what you did here but something I need to think about).  So the drum puzzle is difficult but definitely doable.....I got frustrated the first time I tried it to (chrono'99 made it) but it's definitely rewarding when you do figure it out.  What made it click for me is when I realized something that isn't a clue but that I might add as a clue:

the POSITION of the notes isn't what matter, it's the SHAPES of the notes that matter. 

There's a similar clue that says that each shape is a seperate note but for some reason I still used the position of the note as what button to press.  So read it from right => left and remember that one shape = one button and there's only show many 6 different combinations.

--JP

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2009, 02:30:53 pm »
Yeah, the additional clue is a good idea. Make sure it doesn't come after the "right to left" hint though, but before it (that one's the most important hint, as no one would have the idea of reading the sequence starting from the right, so it should be the last hint).
« Last Edit: February 25, 2009, 02:33:18 pm by Chrono'99 »

V_Translanka

  • Interim Global Moderator
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8325
  • Destroyer of Worlds
    • View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/v_translanka/
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2009, 04:56:41 pm »
I think the clues for the shapes confused me because I wasn't sure which one it was calling the crescent shape and because it doesn't name the 3rd shape at all. I'm also obviously just easily confused & frustrated though...V_V

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #21 on: February 25, 2009, 05:21:12 pm »
I might be able to shape up that clue better?

The crescent shapes mean high/low (can't remember)
*highlight crescent shapes*
pause
*unhighlight crescent shapes*
The round shapes mean high/low (can't remember)
*highlight round shapes*
pause
*unhighlight round shapes*

--JP

P.S. 99, I agree the right => left should be the last clue

V_Translanka

  • Interim Global Moderator
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8325
  • Destroyer of Worlds
    • View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/v_translanka/
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #22 on: February 25, 2009, 10:03:24 pm »
That sounds like a fairly good idea...Also, by Key Config, I meant ZSNES's (my A=J, X=U, Y-I), completely forgetting that you can usually change the in-game Config as well (which I never do in CT)...

Well, anyways, I guess I'll get back to the game now, I feel calmer and I believe in myself...! I can do it...! >_>

The Breaking Point

(ha, that title's got a new ironic tone to it now after all that puzzle nonsense...>_>)

Quote from: Magus
That was hard wasn't it?

I agree. :lol:

Magus is in my lead spot, which made for an odd little exchange where 1) he somehow seems concerned with Ayla's safety and 2) Ayla somehow turns down a fight by leaving...! They're both out of character moves! JP NOTE: bug'd for zeality

Seems like since you're fighting a Nizbel that Crono or Magus should be a forced character (maybe Belthasar should remind the player that Reptites are weak against Lightning or something?)...I imagine people who made a party w/o one of them would have a tough time...In fact, maybe they should be split between the two teams since the other team fights the two Megasaurs...?  JP NOTE: see below

Hmm...I have no idea if choosing to fight Zeal does anything, so I made a Save State, and when you choose to fight and the Tooth is lost...

Quote from: King Zeal
Marle...
Tattered princess of crude and stupid
realm...

There should be an "a" after "of".

I don't think I'm going to go that choice any further though, I loaded my Save State & went with not choosing to fight him...

Hmm...looks like it's mostly the same...

In the place where it's a starfield & you're allowed to access the menu screen to reequip or w/e, you can also switch your party if you hit Y like normal (I did it so I could heal everyone), but when I did, I noticed Crono's sprite popped up and then I moved him around and realized that I now had access to my party and could move them around the starfield...I'm guessing that's not supposed to happen, right?

An Emerald Dream

What's with those assholes who totally didn't introduce themselves to Marle? ha-RUMPH! :lol:

I wish there was a save point where Marle woke up because the very idea of battles with a solo Marle scares the crap outta me...Nevermind, I guess these battles were a little dumbed down in anticipation of Marle...>_> JP NOTE: hm....we should really allow them to save though....edit  I added a save option at the starry screen

In the Lost Woods, there's some transparency issues with the tree to the left of the entrance. The puddle thing to the right of the entrance looks a little effed out as well...unless that's just supposed to look like that...? There's also some transparency issues with the tree right next to that puddle.  JP NOTE: this used to be the regular snow palette but 99 made this new palette (and i totaly agree it's awesome) but the "ice" in the snow palette is what you are seeing in that puddle just with a new color..  for now i'm going to leave it cause it looks really bland w/o anything in the puddle...if 99 or anothe rmapper get around to it maybe we can polish it.

Geeze, the new bow (Fay Arrow) still isn't caught up to the Hoarfrost (from the Coliseum)...are we really not supposed to have had enough cash for that? I thought the Casino (along with the fact that pretty much everyone's going to be playing this on ZSNES) made money easy even if I hadn't gotten those helmets to sell from the previous but with Speekio...I wish these weaker bows would at least inflict a status or something (having to use Provoke with every battle with more than one enemy can become tiresome! lol)...Oh wait, I could buy the Hoarfrost at the Human Refuge too...wtf is the point of the Fay Arrow then?  JP: see below....the bug is really the item description

On the map, if you go down one space from where "Lost Woods" shows up and then head directly left, you walk through a bit of the forest...

When Cedric asks Marle should just say she's a part of the Crono clan (because it sounds kind of cool). Crononco (Crono & Co.) Clan maybe...

In Cedric's house, the...sabercat skin rugs' paws are out of alignment with the rest of its body (both of them)... JP NOTE: hm....it looks like that's the best we can do with the tileset (i believe that' show they are in CT: orig)

CarryOnHat=boo! Similarly as useless as the Fay Arrow (I already have TWO better helmets available...the WingedHelm, which I can readily buy and the Cinderella, which was found upon coming to 1AD)... JP NOTE: where is this? Dinopolis?

In Dinopolis, in the first fight with the 3 Reptites, 2 of them kept getting stuck around the corner so they basically were never targeting me...Saved me a Provoke or two I guess...The next time I went through this battle, it brought me directly under the throne, so this didn't occur.

Uhhh...I started the battle with the ape in the next area (after fighting the two Kilwalas...idk if that was what did this...) and it brought me waaaaaaaaaay down & to the right (Marle walked through a bunch of walls to get there) & into a fight with 2 (purple) Reptites (near an egg chest with the Power Ring [totally useless Accessory for solo Marle, but I'm beginning to think I'm not supposed to be in this area solo Marle...hooray!])...Here's a pic of the area I was led to...



...If I go up the stairs that the two purple Reptites were guarding, Sorin is there and says he's taking care of that area and I should try another path...There was a WingedHelm in an egg/chest down the stairway north of the area with the two purple Reptites and there were two Reptites (1 green, 1 purple) and when I started that battle, it froze...that area seems to be the area to the right of the switches near the entrance of Dinopolis and if I had left it open, I could go down to the jail area (you start out at that area's entrance, but downed I think because that's how you're supposed to start in that area, only normally inside the jail cell) and if I go down before going into the jail area I can walk through part of the wall that's behind the throne...there was a door that was locked and the only other way was a stairway that leads to a place that looks like the only area from Terra Tower I've seen so far (all of the stairs that led to the area of Viper Manor in CC) and all the way down leads to a balcony (before which is a battle with 3 Megasaurs? that say don't let them get the key and then proceed to kill me with one hit)...if I go the opposite direction I get to the cube thing or w/e and two Reptites & two of those monkey things, which is actually a difficult battle (I guess I don't need to win since I still got put in jail after winning)...So, yeah, I don't think I was supposed to go through all of those areas...>_>  JP NOTE: hahah yea.....you definitely took the  hard route there :)

I went back to before that ape and was able to get to that final room w/o going through any of that other stuff...So...idk wtf is going on in Dinopolis, but that ape fight cue totally skewed things...>_>

And for fuck's sake I wish (again) I had taken the Silver Stud from Magus...V_V

Uh, also, in the room with the 4 Kilwalas circling the flame & the human standing above them...I grabbed the items to the left first, then I talked to one of the Kilwalas, which stopped it in its tracks...but then I was stuck & couldn't move or anything while the other Kilwalas walked around us...>_> I did it again & I don't know what I did differently (maybe I talked to the Kilwala at a different time in its rotation?), but that didn't happen again.

An Emerald Dream II

Robo says "C'mon"! That's a contraction...! Wait, what? Robo isn't Data  JP NOTE: Bug'd for zeality

Uh, actually, I think that'll be it for me for now...
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 03:41:49 am by jsondag2 »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #23 on: February 25, 2009, 10:18:54 pm »
Couple quick notes I'll get to these bugs when I get home:

Fay Arrow:

It causes stop on enemies (so it's dumbed down in attack).  We probably don't have any item description for that :-/


Nizbel Fight:

From FW's bug report:

Quote

Quote
*I worry slightly about what would happen if the player had neither Crono nor Magus in the party, since shocking the Reptites and Nizbel is a crucial part of strategy there. Any way to have Belthasar warn the player or something?

(From Lenophis bug report)

http://slickproductions.org/img/fudge/CT%20-%20CE49.png


--JP

V_Translanka

  • Interim Global Moderator
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8325
  • Destroyer of Worlds
    • View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/v_translanka/
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #24 on: February 25, 2009, 10:37:03 pm »
Oh man, Stop would've been awesome throughout a lot of that (yeah, no description)!

Good to see someone else not only shared the same concern, but the same solution! :lol:

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #25 on: February 26, 2009, 04:19:21 am »
a place that looks like the only area from Terra Tower I've seen so far (all of the stairs that led to the area of Viper Manor in CC)

Aha, I'm glad you noticed the reference to CC. That's one of the more subtle ones in the game.

V_Translanka

  • Interim Global Moderator
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8325
  • Destroyer of Worlds
    • View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/v_translanka/
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #26 on: February 26, 2009, 10:29:38 am »
Quote
Also in the Denadoro Elder's House, the woman at the bookshelf & table refers to Robo as w/e you rename him.  JP NOTE: I don't think it's that out there for people to refer to Robo as what you named him? He's supposed to be the same robo that you played as in CT: orig anyways right?

Well, I figure people in 605AD could learn Robo's name from the Robo you leave there in CT, but I don't think they would know w/e name you gave the future Robo who's in your party now (much less refer to the previous Robo as the current one's name).

Quote
CarryOnHat=boo! Similarly as useless as the Fay Arrow (I already have TWO better helmets available...the WingedHelm, which I can readily buy and the Cinderella, which was found upon coming to 1AD)... JP NOTE: where is this? Dinopolis?

You get a CarryOnHat from the father of the girl you save (once you bring her back) as well as the one in Dinopolis.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 12:53:02 pm by V_Translanka »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #27 on: February 27, 2009, 05:10:03 am »
Quote
Well, I figure people in 605AD could learn Robo's name from the Robo you leave there in CT, but I don't think they would know w/e name you gave the future Robo who's in your party now (much less refer to the previous Robo as the current one's name).

But the Robo in your party is the same robo as CT:Orig right?  I get confused with temporal stuff ... But unless I'm mistaken at the end of CT:Orig Robo went in a gate at the fair and popped out in Chronopolis?  So the robo in your party in crimson echoes will have the same name as the robo in CT:Orig, who is the robo who made fiona's forest in 605......

of i could be totally wrong haha it's happened ALOT in the development of this game  :?

Carryon Helmet:

OK yea, that's bugworthy.

--JP

V_Translanka

  • Interim Global Moderator
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8325
  • Destroyer of Worlds
    • View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/weird2/v_translanka/
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #28 on: February 27, 2009, 08:35:38 am »
Well, the Robo in your party would have the same original name, but it's like if you rename Magus in CT...it's kind of weird if people in 600AD start referring to the Great Janus (or w/e you renamed him) who they were at war with, right? I figure what you rename them is only what their name is once you rename them...

(I'll get back to playing in a little bit)

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: V Says: Always Be Bitchin (beta playthrough thread)
« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2009, 09:10:47 am »
What you rename them becomes their name before and after that. It's just a gameplay convention, which is repeated 44 times in CC.