Author Topic: Arrangement Data For Menu And Battle  (Read 6431 times)

Lenophis

  • Crimson Echoes Beta Squad
  • Porrean (+50)
  • *
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2008, 04:04:43 am »
- MP during battle before tech use
That looks Japanese.

Quote from: Aerdan
[02:01:59] <Aerdan> in fact, that's 'ku'.
[02:02:10] <Aerdan> ((in katakana))

Best guess, the digit it's trying to get is out of range of the value it wants to grab. So it's getting something else entirely in the font. If you know where the "convert digits into displayable numbers" routines are, you can attempt to fix the problem. Although...this kind of reeks of old NES situations where a character can have Q230 HP...

If you can, move the gauge right a tile (to give MP enough room for 3 displayable digits).

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2008, 09:02:39 am »
I know it's picking up another piece of data.  It's right ABOVE the actual letters, so that's what it's getting.  All in all, I'm not really sure how to fix it.  The data for the MP, bars, etc...is right above the "Att.  Tech  Item" values.  I've tried altering it, but...doens't help too much.  I'll try again while I'm here at school, see if I can get it now.

Edit: CF913 - This value has to do with the symbol used for MP...I tried changing it to 73 which was MPs/HP's data, and it changes to 0..74 = 1, 75 = 2 xD!  This is evil.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2008, 12:35:23 pm by justin3009 »

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #17 on: September 29, 2008, 12:49:49 pm »
Doiuble Post, my school won't let me edit so...here's the values.

3FC5E2 - Change to 22 for 3 digit mp.  Change to 25 for it to be 3 digits with max 255 MP I believe.
3FC5E8 - Change to 22 for 3 digit mp.  Change to 25 for it to be 3 digits with max 255 MP I believe.

I hope this actually works though.  It starts off correctly, so yay.

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #18 on: September 29, 2008, 04:39:38 pm »
I found three more bytes that needed to be changed to 25 at 3FC7FF, 3FC850, and 3FC857

The overall layout wasn't loading right for me, so I've shifted a couple things around.

3FC5DF-3FC5ED I changed to 03 97 9A 25 7E E0 03 99 9A 25 7E 00 B6 00 00
3FC7FB-3FC802 I changed to 03 97 9A 25 7E 00 A2 00
3FC84C-3FC859 I changed to 03 97 9A 25 7E E0 03 99 9A 25 7E 01 00 00

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #19 on: September 29, 2008, 06:03:29 pm »
Yea, you have to shift it.  I would have said that, but the bell rang for class just as I posted.

Edit: I'm honestly not sure if that 25 works...It was a last second test.

Edit 2: Yea, I had those as well xD!  I really need to list this stuff more often.

Edit 3: It seems to be working perfectly so far.  The only issue, if you use an elixir, it says 55 MP healed instead of 255.  Then there's STILL the matter of the MP in battle.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2008, 06:31:43 pm by justin3009 »

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2008, 12:13:05 pm »
Triple post, but, is it possible to break the damage limit?  I think that would be pretty interesting to have it do xD

Chocobo_Fan

  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • Is there no salvation in all the world?
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #21 on: October 01, 2008, 10:11:35 am »
Wow, excellent job Justin! All the coding stuff is going way over my head, but breaking stat limits and stuff is really cool! :D This will be really useful for CT+, since Z is planning on breaking stat limits. And I agree, if you can find a way to shift the ATB to the right, you should have enough room for 3-digit MP. Not sure about 4-digit HP, though... :/ Maybe shift the thing that displays names to the left? Although that may cause problems with displaying monster names... :/

And yeah, if you can break MP/HP, I'm you can probably break the damage limit, but I'm not a programmer, so I wouldn't know for sure. :/

Sorry I can't contribute, I suck at programming. :( But this certainly is quite interesting! I'm sure you'll be able to figure it out! :D

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
999 MP in battle
« Reply #22 on: October 01, 2008, 01:59:58 pm »
Updating the battle menu for 999 MP requires a bit of work.

First, move the ATB gauges 1 tile to the right:

Code: [Select]
C104B1C2
C104B6CC
C104BBC3
C104BECD

C10747C2
C1074AC4
C1074DC6
C10750C8

C10760C3
C10763C5
C10766C7
C10769C9

C10772C2

C10782C2

Next, MP display jumps must be changed from C10174 (2 digit number conversion) to C1011F (3 digit number conversion)  In addition, the digits have to be shifted right 1 tile, and a 7E949D copy added to copy the third MP digit.  This requires custom code, added to C1FFD0-C1FFD9.

Code: [Select]
C104451F
C106871F

C106979D
C1069D9E

C106A220
C106A3D0
C106A4FF

C104559D
C1045B9E

C1046020
C10461D0
C10462FF

C1FFD0AD
C1FFD19F
C1FFD294
C1FFD399
C1FFD4C4
C1FFD50C
C1FFD6A2
C1FFD729
C1FFD800
C1FFD960

More custom code is required to have all 3 MP digits flash grey when a PC is near death or defeated:

Code: [Select]
C106AE20
C106AFC8
C106B0FF
C1046C20
C1046DC8
C1046EFF

C1FFC899
C1FFC9C1
C1FFCA0C
C1FFCB99
C1FFCCC5
C1FFCD0C
C1FFCE60

Once that is completed, 3 digit MP should now correctly display for ATB gauge type 1 and 2.  The next step is to update the "subtract X MP" display when a tech is selected in the Tech menu.

Update 2 digit MP conversion to 3 digits on tech cost menu for each PC:

Code: [Select]
C10CD11F
C10CFF1F
C10D2D1F

A jump to custom code is required for all 3 PCs:

Code: [Select]
C10CDF20
C10CE0DA
C10CE1FF

C10D0D20
C10D0EE4
C10D0FFF

C10D3B20
C10D3CEE
C10D3DFF

Again, shift the numbers 1 tile to the right and copy the 7E949D 3rd digit:

Code: [Select]
C10CDA53

C1FFDA8D
C1FFDB55
C1FFDCA7
C1FFDDAD
C1FFDE9D
C1FFDF94
C1FFE08D
C1FFE151
C1FFE2A7
C1FFE360

C10D08D3

C1FFE48D
C1FFE5D5
C1FFE6A7
C1FFE7AD
C1FFE89D
C1FFE994
C1FFEA8D
C1FFEBD1
C1FFECA7
C1FFED60

C10D3653

C1FFEE8D
C1FFEF55
C1FFF0A8
C1FFF1AD
C1FFF29D
C1FFF394
C1FFF48D
C1FFF551
C1FFF6A8
C1FFF760

...and that's how it works.

For testing, set a higher MP max using PAR codes.  Example: Max MP 291

Code: [Select]
7E2609 23 Crono 291 max MP
7E260A 01

7E2659 23 Marle 291 max MP
7E265A 01

7E26A9 23 Lucca 291 max MP
7E26AA 01

Once the battle begins use a MegaElixir to set all PCs to max MP.

Battle gauge type Off is not used by the above routines, and still needs to be done.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2008, 02:20:54 pm by JLukas »

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #23 on: October 01, 2008, 06:58:48 pm »
Holy jesus that's alot of stuff to do.

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: 3 digit MP project
« Reply #24 on: October 01, 2008, 08:12:46 pm »
I made an IPS patch with the changes so far.

I did notice a few bugs with it.

- The battle gauge has a spot that doesn't update properly for PCs 2 and 3.
- The first and second MP digits flickers with odd things.
- MP in the menu maxes out at 255, while battle goes up to 999.
- MP used isn't shown in the proper place in the tech menu.

Edit: You may want the actual patch. >_>

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: October 01, 2008, 08:16:01 pm by Mauron »

Shinrin

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 487
  • Chrono Trigger Fan # 100
    • View Profile
    • Shinrin Cole
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2008, 08:55:59 pm »
The menu needs to read from 2 bytes in the rom, it's only reading 1, that's why it's only showing 255. ;)

This is one of the reasons why you can't get past level 255 either.

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2008, 09:01:06 pm »
Well that's weird.  There's still a few obvious bug factors to be worked out, but that's just weird...I'll check this stuff out later.  I'm working on something else for CT's menu.

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: 3 digit MP project
« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2008, 01:19:10 pm »
I did notice a few bugs with it.

- The battle gauge has a spot that doesn't update properly for PCs 2 and 3.
- The first and second MP digits flickers with odd things.
- MP in the menu maxes out at 255, while battle goes up to 999.
- MP used isn't shown in the proper place in the tech menu.


The .ips contains some typos and is missing a few changes that result in those battle bugs.

Code: [Select]
C1074E0C - fixes ATB gauge, patch has typo 7C

C1FFCB99 - typo/off by one offset, patch has 0C
C1FFCCC5 - typo/off by one offset, patch has 99
C1FFCD0C - typo/off by one offset patch has C5
C1FFCE60 - typo/off by one offset, patch has 0C

C1FFE151 - patch has typo 5A

These were missing:

Code: [Select]
C1046C20
C1046DC8
C1046EFF

C106871F

C106979D
C1069D9E

C106A220
C106A3D0
C106A4FF

C106AE20
C106AFC8
C106B0FF

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: 999 MP Project
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2008, 03:14:02 pm »
No surprise that I goofed somewhere in that patch. Here's a corrected one. All battle related glitches have been corrected with it. It's down to these:

- MP in the menu maxes out at 255, while battle goes up to 999.
- MP used isn't shown in the proper place in the tech menu.

[attachment deleted by admin]

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Little bit of Menu Arrangement Data
« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2008, 06:56:52 pm »
Er.  I tried patching it and it doesn't do anything at all XD