Author Topic: Retranslation Bug Report Thread  (Read 12654 times)

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« on: September 28, 2007, 06:21:08 pm »
Post bugs here! Bug list:

V. 1.02

Spaces? EF
Elemental icons showing up before magic
http://www.chronocompendium.com/Term/KWhazit_Page.html
Mayor's manor spaces and periods
Leftover NA dialogue in Forest Maze
Marle line at Telepod
Line overflow in Proto Dome
Line overflow in Frog's Burrow
Missing line break in Ioka Trading Hut
Line overflow in Snail Stop
Line overflow in Choras Inn Present
Typo in Manoria Cathedral
Missing word in Guardia barracks
Extra space in Chief's Hut
Line overflow in Trading Post
Master Golem overflow
NA Toma line
Line overflow in Ioka Meeting Site
Line overflow in Ozzie's Fort
Missing Robo choices in Flying Epoch
Typo in the Moonlight Parade
Line overflow in Melchior's Workshop
Extra period in Ocean Palace Throneroom
Line overflow in bit attack
Missing line break in End of Time

V. 1.01

Mayor's Manor special special powers
Bigger hit rate means more damage
Shelters No / Yes
Can be revived too
Middle-aged woman at Fair
Controller menu extra period
Dreamstone Bow
Aris Dome
Porre
Tata's house
Truce Canyon more amazing that I am
Fatto (was Debu)
MonkeyCo-op (was M. Gasser)
Bwoot-Bwoot (was Gold Eaglet)
Magus defenses text
Tutorial
« Last Edit: July 13, 2008, 04:06:02 am by ZeaLitY »

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2007, 02:21:48 am »
Okay, this thread is officially open.

maggiekarp

  • Crimson Echoes Beta Squad
  • Time Traveler (+800)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • ʇ ı  ʇ n o q ɐ  p ɹ ı ǝ ʍ ˙ ˙ ˙ ƃ u ı ɥ ʇ ǝ ɯ o s
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2007, 11:33:12 am »
After a battle, when it's showing me who gained levels and what sort of stuff I stole from dead bodies, it flickers.

The sounds are also a bit screwed up in some places (time gate, wind blowing)

I don't know if this is an error with the patch or something that happened because I used the frameskip button. One time I was running around using frameskip, and when I stopped holding it in Crono was a single frame sliding around too fast for the other two to follow.

Perhaps my ROM is corrupt?

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2007, 01:30:33 pm »
Could just be an interleaved ROM. It's the common culprit in this situation. Let me know if downloading a new ROM fixes it.

zankrink

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • *sigh* sooooo tired...
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2007, 02:02:48 pm »
there are some typing mistakes, like when they say they come from Kingdom year 1000, they should say they come from kingdom guardia in the year 1000, or at least that they come from the kingdom in the year 1000.
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i233/sinec/Dibujo666.jpg
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i233/sinec/Dibujo101010.jpg
Also, Robo talking in caps sometimes. If this be on purpose there are still some mistakes where the fisrt letter is not in caps and the rest is.
http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i233/sinec/Dibujo7.jpg

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2007, 02:05:03 pm »
For the first, that's just what the Japanese version called it since the date system is based on the founding of Guardia. As for Robo, that's the way robots "talk" in Japanese fiction. Certain syllables are different or emphasized.

Biccy

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2007, 02:44:03 pm »
More specifically, it was written in katakana in Japanese, which is most often translated with capital letters.

Aside from the flickering, I also noticed that, in the tutorial for status effects, the screen became all glitched. It played normally, but the words were all jumbled.

Lena Andreia

  • Porrean (+50)
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Radical Dreamer
    • View Profile
    • Chrono Ark Forums
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2007, 04:32:50 pm »
 Found a rather big one--in the trading hut in 65,000,000 BC (right after you beat Magus) if you try to trade to get the Dreamstone Bow, it doesn't give it to you.

 A typo mistake when Magus drops his defenses--it says something like "Magus drops defenses and begins casting a spell3".

 Also, there are a few instances where the main characters' names display the default even if you changed them--I'll grab some specific screenshots on my next playthrough (should be sometime soon--I'm nearly past Zeal). Most of them are instances of Chrono's name.

 EDIT: Oh, and there are some other minor spelling ones--in 600AD Parepoley (or Parepoli?) is still called "Porre" on the world map still--also, "Aris" Dome is spelled "Aris" on the world map, but "Arris" in the character dialogue.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2007, 04:35:35 pm by Lena Andreia »

Biccy

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2007, 07:02:15 pm »
I tried it with a different ROM and I still get the blinking screen in battles along with everything else. It seems to be the patch. :/

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2007, 07:10:51 pm »
What area is this? I'm not getting it on my ROM, but it might be a specific problem area. After I check that out, I'll just hand over my ROM.

Oh, wait...are you guys using ZSNES's auto-patching feature? A problem with that's been reported on ROMHacking.net, but not quite like this one. Or maybe you're using SNES9x?

maggiekarp

  • Crimson Echoes Beta Squad
  • Time Traveler (+800)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • ʇ ı  ʇ n o q ɐ  p ɹ ı ǝ ʍ ˙ ˙ ˙ ƃ u ı ɥ ʇ ǝ ɯ o s
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2007, 08:47:34 pm »
I'm using ZSNES, dunno about the other guy.


Tarta's house is still labeled "Tata's House", Gran and Leon seem to switch lines, and when Ayla asks you your name, Crono's naming screen comes up.

Biccy

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2007, 09:22:01 pm »
I'm using ZSNES. I did the patch like was in the Readme, and I'm getting the blinking at Guardia Forest and fighting Gonzales.

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2007, 09:35:19 pm »
Okay, I'll sent out my ROM through e-mail later. See if the same bug occurs.

As for Ayla's Crono naming screen, that's for Crono's "CronoNick" nickname. So if you input "Cro", Ayla will exclusively call Crono that.

maggiekarp

  • Crimson Echoes Beta Squad
  • Time Traveler (+800)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • ʇ ı  ʇ n o q ɐ  p ɹ ı ǝ ʍ ˙ ˙ ˙ ƃ u ı ɥ ʇ ǝ ɯ o s
    • View Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2007, 01:04:43 am »
Tried your rom out, still blinks in battle. Also, the game seems to freeze up when I try to leave the Black Bird (after getting all my swag back, you know)

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10592
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Retranslation Bug Report Thread
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2007, 01:16:37 am »
Are you using ZSNES 1.6 like Biccy? That might be the problem. Although I wasn't aware of 1.6's release...