Author Topic: Sprite Assembly  (Read 7776 times)

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2006, 06:37:03 pm »
I am really anxious to see this in action, once I have time off a bit, i'll study up on this.  I'd like to know as much stuff as I can on TF and any other thing we can do to modify CT.

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2006, 06:41:55 pm »
Vehek, could you post an example of the tile reversal with XX 4Y? I'm curious on how that would apply to a tile with 01 79 (for example), unless I'm misunderstanding (graphic page 1, tile 79 (121 in decimal)).

My guess, would be that for your example you gave, you would enter in 79 41.

On another note, I haven't found any other special flags or whatever besides the mirroring flag I got from that post from the previous version of the ACMLM board.

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2006, 03:00:46 pm »
Sadly, I've gotten a bit too bored with it to work on replacing Tata.

I just looked at the sprite assembly for Gato, and it's a bit different in some ways.

One difference is that the sprite assembly is 120 bytes long (versus the 40 bytes of sprites like Crono), so there are more tiles loaded and coordinates. The sprite size byte in the sprite data is probably involved in loading the sprite assembly this way.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2006, 03:25:26 pm by Vehek »

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #18 on: June 20, 2006, 01:32:52 am »
This is triple posting, but...
I decided to work on replacing a simpler character with only one frame of animation, the Truce Dome Director. It's pretty much just a novelty of course, but I might expand on it later.

Edit-Any characters you want me to replace? Try to keep the suggestions to characters with few animations.
Edit2-Bug:The patch causes the Future Room in the developers ending not to work.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: June 20, 2006, 05:42:00 pm by Vehek »

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #19 on: June 21, 2006, 12:13:24 am »
This has reached quadruple posting. Sigh.. I just don't know if I can fit this into an editing of a previous post...

New theory on how the tiles are grouped (for size 0 sprites).
0000 0000 0200 0100
0000 0000 2000 2100
0000 0000 1000 1100
0000 3100 3000 3040
This is Crono's assembly data, minus the X/Y coordinates.
The hex marked in blue loads the tiles for the hair and the face. Notice that those groups are not consecutive.

Edit-In a hex editor with rows of 16, the second two tiles of a four-tile group is at the same place in the next row as the first two tiles. The start of the second row of tiles is 16 bytes after the start of the first row.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2006, 12:44:10 am by Vehek »

joemomma

  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #20 on: June 21, 2006, 02:31:02 am »
Sweetness (now you dont have to post 4 times in a row.)

Chickenlump

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #21 on: June 21, 2006, 03:35:49 am »
Sweetness (now you dont have to post 4 times in a row.)

Gwa ha ha, I was just about to do the same thing. :)
Truly awesome work Vehek. FF6 characters look great in Chrono Trigger, the palettes even fit them fine. I released a Terra is Your Momma hack as my first Chrono Trigger modification, and it became a part of GoodSnes complete ROM sets, and quite a few websites have it available as well. O_o (nice, but it was just a graphic replacement... heh.. nothing advanced, like you are doing. I'm a sham!).


justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #22 on: June 21, 2006, 08:07:22 am »
That's Edgar..isn't it?  Heh, nice job.

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #23 on: June 21, 2006, 10:07:11 am »
I mostly got lucky that I found a palette with similar colors.
I tried replacing the 1000 AD soldier with the soldier from FF6 and was using Crono's palette, creating a blue soldier. I got as far as replacing all the idle animations, but I gave it up, as it was causing 1000 AD Guardia Forest to crash....
Sigh...
The Director mod causes the the Future Age developer room to crash too....
Hopefully, I can learn what causes this and there won't be any problems.
Edit-
0000 0000 0200 0100 0000 0000 2000 2100
0000 0000 1000 1100 0000 3100 3000 3040

The colors I've marked the digits with show which tiles are in a 4-tile group. The X/Y coordinates are in the same order as the groups; the first x/y set controls the first 4-tile group, etc.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2006, 02:06:53 pm by Vehek »

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2006, 08:04:03 pm »
It appears my earlier guess on the size of size 1 assemblies was incorrect. They're actually 80 bytes long (50 in hex). There are 8 groups of 4-tile groups. Because there're more groups, the start of the second row of a group is 32 bytes after the start of the first row.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2006, 08:42:23 pm by Vehek »

Vargose

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #25 on: July 07, 2006, 02:47:39 pm »
I wondered if Frog's sprite assembly was smaller or did it just fill in above him with the empty tile. So I put a little bit of graphics in the empty tile to confirm this. Frog's sprite assembly does just fill in with the empty tile. I have a picture of his running animation below. I am trying to confrim this now for his battle animations.

On a side not the guy at the bottom is Guile from Justin's hack Time's Illusion, looks alittle like Serge.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 07, 2006, 05:19:13 pm by Vargose »

Chrono'99

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #26 on: July 07, 2006, 04:55:09 pm »
This is very nice. Playable Schala and Glenn *might* be possible one day with this!

And, mmh... is that Serge at the bottom of the screen? It certainly looks like him (without scarf).

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2006, 05:44:17 pm »
No that is not serge.  It's one of the characters from our game ^^'

And also with this.  I highly doubt it, but could we be able to make 8 playable characters instead of 7 >_>
« Last Edit: July 07, 2006, 06:07:55 pm by justin3009 »

Vargose

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #28 on: July 10, 2006, 10:44:41 am »
From what I can tell there are 2 bytes per tile, and there are 16 tiles per frame. The ones I was working with were 4x4 boxes laid out like this. 1 is the first two bytes of the sprite assembly. 2 is the second and so on.



[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: July 10, 2006, 12:48:15 pm by Vargose »

Vargose

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Sprite Assembly
« Reply #29 on: July 11, 2006, 10:18:06 am »
Last night I found that sometimes the tiles are arranged differently. This probably has something to do with the last eight bytes of the sprite assembly data. I will be investigating