Author Topic: The story of Chrono Cross (and some other ramblings)  (Read 1203 times)

Vagrant

• Iokan (+1)
  • rocket surgeon
    • View Profile
The story of Chrono Cross (and some other ramblings)
« on: December 05, 2008, 04:29:46 am »
Hi, I'm new here. I've been a fan of Chrono Trigger for ages and have frequented the Compendium many a time throughout the years, I've enjoyed reading a lot of the articles and I'd call myself a fan of the place.
Weird thing is I've never played Chrono Cross. I basically just used the Compendium to roughly get the story of the game. Never could get emulation to work either.

Anyway, with all the new stuff coming from CT:DS, it motivated me to watch Chrono Cross on YouTube. (I'm a student with a lot of time to kill)

For the record I quite like the music (though some tracks are just annoying and I imagine no one who played the game would ever want to hear the battle theme again) and agree that it couldn't be called objectively bad.
Again, I don't know about the gameplay. I can only presume it's very good for the game to have this much of a fanbase.
I don't fall into some kind of category of hating the game because I couldn't play as Crono or Magus or whatever. And I know the game wasn't "loosely" linked to CT or whatever and that CT set everything in this game up. (though I do consider it a minor flaw that only Lucca and Schala are directly linked to CC)

But I'm sorry, I think that it is one of the most poorly written stories. Ever.
(yes, I realise this isn't going to make me any friends here)

My biggest problem is best illustrated with these examples:
The Dragon Tear (when placed in the top of the Dragonian Tower and surrounded by the dragon statue things) lets the bad guy swap bodies with you and it lets you get a new version of your old body.
And the shards of the two Dragon Tears when placed on those things in that place in the middle of nowhere makes a Chrono Cross that abstractly unifies time and people and stuff.