Author Topic: I want to write the story -- Chrono Trigger Final  (Read 952 times)

Ven

• Iokan (+1)
    • View Profile
I want to write the story -- Chrono Trigger Final
« on: February 09, 2012, 12:03:31 am »
I'm a story writer, not a programmer. I have some great ideas for a final installment of CT, mostly a re-work of the original with additional story.
Not just concept ... but game-play design as well.

Do I have a chance SE?? I would do it for free!  :)

I think if I could submit my ideas they would be impressed ... Chrono Trigger Final

Mr Bekkler

• Bounty Hunter
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • So it goes.
    • View Profile
Re: I want to write the story -- Chrono Trigger Final
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 01:25:57 am »
Do you have any examples?

Ven

• Iokan (+1)
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 07:58:13 pm »
Well I think SE had the right idea with their DS port, you can't go wrong with the original, and simplicity is best.
Unfortunately their execution just wasn't good. Instead of improving/concluding the story, they just added superfluous content.

So here's my premise and what I bring to the table...

When Lavos was defeated and merged with Schala to become the Time Devourer, it destroyed all timelines leading to its defeat.
Essentially, the Time Devourer created a time-loop that erased Chrono and the gang's efforts in CT.

How can Chrono+friends overcome this time-loop?

Marle was in possession of The Pendant when Lavos was defeated.
Unlike the other characters who, because of the time-loop, have no recollection of the events in CT (they just re-live the same timeline over again) ...
The Pendant caused Marle to be unaffected -- she is the only one to remember everything!

So how does CT Final build on this idea?

The game begins just like old times ... "Good Morning, Chrono!"

Chrono wakes up in his bed in Guardia 1000 AD and heads off to the Millenial Fair, exactly like he did in CT.