Author Topic: [3000] Somehow rip CT DS new location backgrounds, map screens, & sprites  (Read 1448 times)

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10663
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Including new palette swapped monsters.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 12:59:55 pm by ZeaLitY »

ONSLAUGHT

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1149
  • Crono + Panda = WTF Run!!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Somehow rip new location backgrounds and all map screens from CT DS
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 07:42:40 pm »
Probably should go over to a spriter's community. Normally I'd say Spriter's resource, but they seem to be temporarily down. BGHQ maybe? There's plenty of sprite websites I'm sure have to have some hardcore Chrono fans that would love to help out.
Or, the very painful method, of getting the tilesets we already have and placing them to form the maps. ONE SQUARE AT A TIME.

Zephira

  • Bounty Hunter
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1541
  • You're not afraid of the dark, are you?...Are you?
    • View Profile
    • My deviantArt page
Can you turn the sprite layer off in DS emulators like you can in ZSNESW? If you can, then just run through each map and take screenshots, and compile them in photoshop. If I can find an emulator/rom and figure out how to turn off the sprite layer, I'll do it after these palette swaps and crochet project.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8974
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Check out No$GBA and Desmume, Zeph. One of them allows switching layers on and off, but I forget which.

kingpingu30

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 168
  • Cos I am the actual king of the pingus.
    • View Profile
Check out No$GBA and Desmume, Zeph. One of them allows switching layers on and off, but I forget which.

Its Desmume. But you'd need the NOSSE version in order to actually do it.

Echo

  • Earthbound (+15)
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Time marches on, but the clocks are broken
    • View Profile
Re: [2000] Somehow rip new location backgrounds and all map screens from CT DS
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2009, 03:46:47 am »
Which ones do we need exactly? Only the DS exclusive maps, or all the maps in CT DS?

I may be able to rip them, though it may take time.

Edit: Although, if I can figure out how to rip them. Desmume has a background viewer tool, but it doesn't show the entire background, just part of it, and it's scrambled. I could do it the old-fashioned printscreening way, but that's going to take time to edit off all the sprites and objects etc.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2009, 05:38:13 am by Echo »

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10663
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile