Author Topic: Glitch with 2 Epochs  (Read 2941 times)

HyperNerd

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1185
  • In Guardia we trust
    • View Profile
    • Surreal Squad homepage
Glitch with 2 Epochs
« on: January 06, 2009, 06:17:53 pm »
In New Game+, after Crono dies, I encountered a glitch. With Marle at the head of my party, Lucca second, and Magus in third, I took the Epoch to 2300 AD After obtaining the Chrono Trigger and recieving ending #2, Reunion. I flew to Belthasar's Dome, and entered, leaving the Epoch outside. Once I entered, I walked to where the Epoch was, searching for the Strange Construct (Nu.) I found him, but he was next to the Epoch, with no wings, talking about the Controls for the Epoch. I thought maybe it would fix itself after I moved the old Epoch somewhere else. I entered the Epoch, and went to the End of time, and the Game froze and stayed on a black screen. I tried 2 more times, to no avail. I had to restart my game to proceed.
( Which was fine, I was about to anyways.)

                                        BEWARE FELLOW COMPENDIUMITES!!!


Chocobo_Fan

  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • Is there no salvation in all the world?
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2009, 06:32:33 pm »
I believe this was said before... If you leave the flightless Epoch in 2300 AG, once you get the winged one, the original is stuck in 2300 AG, and Nu Belthasar won't tell you about Death peak and therefore not give you the poyozo dolls, preventing you from continuing the game.

Did you leave the flightless Epoch in 2300 AG? If not, then you may be on to something, actually... :/

Acacia Sgt

  • Radical Dreamer (+2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2433
  • Forever loyal to the Acacia Dragoons
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2009, 06:46:28 pm »
I have heard of that glitch before, that's why once I get the wingless Epoch, I stay away from 2,300 AD until I have to climb Death Peak.

HyperNerd

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1185
  • In Guardia we trust
    • View Profile
    • Surreal Squad homepage
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2009, 06:48:32 pm »
I don't think I did, I barely went to 2300 AD at all.

Shadow D. Darkman

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2630
  • "Chrono Cross" is good, and spoilers never hurt...
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 06:55:09 pm »
Protip: If you don't want to leave it in Antiquity, leave it in the End Of Time. That's what I do.

Which brings up the question. How does it turn up in Antiquity when you leave it elsewhere?

Chocobo_Fan

  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • Is there no salvation in all the world?
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 06:56:49 pm »
It's just that awesome. :p

And huh, if you didn't leave it in Belthasar's dome, then how did the glitch happen...? o_O Peculiar.

Acacia Sgt

  • Radical Dreamer (+2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2433
  • Forever loyal to the Acacia Dragoons
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2009, 06:58:27 pm »
Wait, I only knew it was if you left it in the Dome, how does it triggered if not?

More reason to stay away from 2,300 AD.

HyperNerd

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1185
  • In Guardia we trust
    • View Profile
    • Surreal Squad homepage
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 07:02:16 pm »
Exactly. Just a warning everyone-

STAY AWAY FROM 2300 AD!!!!

Chocobo_Fan

  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • Is there no salvation in all the world?
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2009, 07:06:19 pm »
Didn't you stay away form 2300 AG, yet the glitch still happened? o_O

We need some professional hackers to figure out what's going on, I think.

(Someone actually figured out what caused the End of Time save point glitch. I'm sure they could figure out this one...)

Shadow D. Darkman

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2630
  • "Chrono Cross" is good, and spoilers never hurt...
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2009, 07:14:00 pm »
What caused the End Of Time Glitch?

Speaking of glitches, they removed the Arris Dome Glitch in CTDS :cry: No free EXP for Shadow...

HyperNerd

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1185
  • In Guardia we trust
    • View Profile
    • Surreal Squad homepage
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2009, 07:18:40 pm »
Free EXP? Why would you need that in Chrono Trigger? It's so easy!! Not that it's bad, but really. It was easier than Kingdom Hearts II!

Chocobo_Fan

  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • Is there no salvation in all the world?
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2009, 07:19:50 pm »
What Arris Dome glitch...? The one where if you open the menu in the room where you fight the Guardian, you fight a bunch of robots? Aren't they crappy Version 2.0s and stuff that give out barely any exp, though...? o_O

And the reason people got stuck in the wall at the EoT... Well, here's a link:

http://www.chronocompendium.com/Forums/index.php/topic,6697.0.html

(It's not just the EoT, by the way. Any save point where you do that is viable for getting you glitched)

Shadow D. Darkman

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2630
  • "Chrono Cross" is good, and spoilers never hurt...
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2009, 07:27:19 pm »
Every little bit counts, and as long as I get it, IDC how small it is.

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2009, 11:10:11 am »
I confirmed the 2 Epoch glitch.

After finishing Mt. Woe, the seal is broken on the 12000 BC cave gate and the skyway teleporters to Zeal.  All of these are shared by bit 0x80 in 7F0057.

Warp the Epoch to 2300 AD Keeper's Dome.  Then travel through the Sewer Access and Lab 32 to get to the Proto Dome, and use the portal back to the End of Time.  Activate the warp pillar to return to 12000 BC. (It should be pointed out now that this would explain the rarity of the glitch - it's highly unlikely the player would take an unnecessary trip through 2300 AD on foot at this specific point in the story)

Continue the game normally until the upgraded Epoch is obtained.

After receiving the Chrono Trigger, fly the Epoch to 2300 AD and enter the Keeper's Dome.  The Nu isn't blocking the door, and the original Epoch will crash the game when boarded.  Pressing the confirm button will play the time warping sound over and over.

It is possible to avoid the crash, and delete the duplicate Epoch, if you move the original Epoch before talking to Gaspar.  The next time you visit the Keeper's Dome, the Nu will be in the corridor.

HyperNerd

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1185
  • In Guardia we trust
    • View Profile
    • Surreal Squad homepage
Re: Glitch with 2 Epochs
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2009, 12:51:29 pm »
Yeah... I was probably rushing through and was trying to get the Sealed items that I had forgotten about. What I probably did was ignore the Epoch, go to the Bangor dome, I think, collect some items I had missed, and forgot the Epoch once more.  :lol: Thanks for clearing that up, hopefully if anyone else has the problem they can check this Thread.  Yeah, I guess it was pretty stupid of me to ignore the Epoch. I ussually do before it gets wings, though.