Author Topic: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video  (Read 4802 times)

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« on: January 04, 2009, 06:21:47 am »
I've never encountered this bug myself, nor heard about it happening in the SNES/PSX versions.  After reading the posts on GameFAQs, and now here, I decided to investigate.

The problem occurs if the characters are moving when a save point is activated.  It is possible to be out of bounds of the save point during the time the menu is activated and the screen transition is complete.  Upon saving, instead of saving the exact coordinates, the value gets rounded.  When the save game is loaded later on, the character could be stuck in the wall.

To avoid this situation completely, stop moving before activating the save point.

If you do get stuck in the End of Time, enter the menu, and the instant you press the button to exit, hold the d-pad and dash button towards the open area.

Youtube video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmeQlSdDeMQ

This video was done on the SNES version.

Other confirmed SNES locations:

Location 17C - Terra Cave
Location 194 - Ocean Palace entrance
Location 19A - Ocean Palace (the second save point)
Location 1C2 - Black Omen (save point before Queen Zeal battle)
Location 1DA - Lavos tunnel
Location 1EF - Death Peak cliffs

Unlike the End of Time, it doesn't appear possible to escape if you get stuck in the wall in these areas.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2009, 09:34:59 am by JLukas »

Zergplex

  • Springtime of Youth
  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Not all those who wander are lost
    • View Profile
    • Zergplex ~ Not all those who wander are lost
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2009, 10:51:06 am »
Great work! You just saved a lot of people a lot of time. Any chance of getting this stickied?

Edit: Thanks ZeaLitY!
« Last Edit: January 04, 2009, 09:51:50 pm by Zergplex »

chrono eric

  • Dimension Crosser (+1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2009, 11:27:29 pm »
Yes! I think that's exactly what I did if I remember correctly. I accessed the menu and then afterwards managed to get out.

Good to know the cause of it. I usually do access the save points while moving now that I think about it.

Shadow D. Darkman

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2630
  • "Chrono Cross" is good, and spoilers never hurt...
    • View Profile
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 11:00:37 am »
This has never happened to me in either version. Perhaps I got lucky? :? <(???)

Acacia Sgt

  • Radical Dreamer (+2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2463
  • Forever loyal to the Acacia Dragoons
    • View Profile
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2009, 12:10:49 pm »
So that's how it happened. Well, now I see why it never happened to me, I always stop moving.

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 299
    • View Profile
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2009, 12:24:47 pm »
I've had this happen in the SNES version in the black omen.

Chrono'99

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2009, 12:59:13 pm »
Perhaps the reason it seems to happen more often on DS is because of the auto-running feature? Since you move faster, the coordinates might be more likely to change in the short amount of time that it takes to load the menu.

Toby

  • Earthbound (+15)
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: End of Time stuck in wall glitch - research w/video
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2009, 11:04:44 am »
Perhaps the reason it seems to happen more often on DS is because of the auto-running feature? Since you move faster, the coordinates might be more likely to change in the short amount of time that it takes to load the menu.

hah, i switched that straight back to hold a button to run mode :P