Author Topic: In-game Font Switching experiment  (Read 2759 times)

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #15 on: April 07, 2008, 12:29:12 am »
This morning, I got font switching in the battle menu working. I just managed to make a patch for it.
This patch is NOT stand-alone. It needs my menu font switching patch to work. (It uses the same font pointer table as my menu font switcher.)
Original Code:
Quote
$CC/E018 A9 60       LDA #$60                A:0018 X:C975 Y:CC90 P:enVMxdIzc

$CC/E01E A9 8C       LDA #$8C                A:0060 X:C975 Y:CC90 P:enVMxdIzc

$CC/E024 A9 FF       LDA #$FF                A:008C X:C975 Y:CC90 P:eNVMxdIzc
These assemble the location it starts copying from (FF8C60).

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: April 07, 2008, 12:55:09 am by Vehek »

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2008, 08:54:29 am »
^-- ^___________^!  Works very nicely. 

Here's a pointless patch that has both menu switch AND battle switch font in one.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Anacalius

  • Alternate Primary Member
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 286
  • Boredom is not a burden that anyone should bear.
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #17 on: April 07, 2008, 12:32:24 pm »
Wow, awesome work. Keep it up.

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #18 on: April 07, 2008, 12:55:02 pm »
The battle menu loads from an earlier point than the normal menu, which starts loading the font from FF8E60 in the original game. I didn't leave that much space between fonts. I hope that won't cause any trouble. (Though you can just move the fonts and change the pointers.)
Well, I think there's no more skeleton programming to do here besides adding onto the dialog font switcher.
(Actual menu option is not "skeleton" to me.)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2008, 01:09:25 pm by Vehek »

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #19 on: April 07, 2008, 01:23:39 pm »
Did you overwrite the "menu"  data to store the fonts or are the fonts stored in unused space?

--JP

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2008, 03:11:49 pm »
The fonts are stored in unused space above the menu font.  The menu font is stored after the end of the rom at like 410260 or something for the first one.

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2008, 10:35:28 pm »
Something I made on Sunday to fix the save file backgrounds. I haven't decided where exactly the code should go.
Quote
$C2/9561 22 00 00 42 JSL $420000[$42:0000]

$42/0000 C0 00 0E    CPY #$0E00
$42/0003 D0 04       BNE $04    [$0009]
$42/0005 A9 41       LDA #$41
$42/0007 80 02       BRA $02    [$000B]
$42/0009 A9 FF       LDA #$FF
$42/000B 8D 04 43    STA $4304  [$00:4304]
$42/000E 6B          RTL

$C2/9565 EA          NOP

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: In-game Font Switching experiment
« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2008, 02:47:10 am »
Very nice