Author Topic: Temporal Flux Woe  (Read 2548 times)

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Temporal Flux Woe
« on: July 23, 2008, 12:37:17 pm »
So, I finally decide to start trying to use TF, but, low and behold, I have a couple problems.

My main one being that it won't work.  I have Microsoft .Net Framework downloaded-ish...  The problem I think is that when I download it, it gives me an error just before finishing that says something along the lines of "You must use "Turn Windows features on or off" in the control panel to install or configure Microsoft .NET framework 3.0"

When I go to that part in the control panel, I check all the boxes with framework and it still doesn't work...  I am not sure what to do from here.

Edit: Also, I'm not sure if this is worth noting or not, but I don't see any .net updates in my widows updates, infact, I don't have any updates in windows update :/
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 04:40:23 pm by Azure »

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2008, 04:45:26 am »
What OS are you running?  Instead of of installing through Windows update, you can Google ".net framework 2.0 download" and the first link is to MS site where you can download the file instead.

TF only requires .NET 2.0  Maybe 3.0 isn't installing because it requires a 2.0 install first.


Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 11:46:59 am »
I have XP.  When downloading the different kinds of 2.0 I get these errors:

2.0 x86 - Error - product already installed

2.0 x64 - Error creating process <C:\Users\Azure\AppData\Local\Temp\IXP000.TMP\Install.exe>
              Reason: C:\Windows\System32\advpack.dll

2.0 IA64 - Error creating process <C:\Users\Azure\AppData\Local\Temp\IXP000.TMP\Install.exe>
              Reason: C:\Windows\System32\advpack.dll

Zakyrus

  • Entity
  • Magical Dreamer (+1250)
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • "Bouncy, bouncy, bouncy... --!!"
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2008, 12:20:40 pm »
It's been a while since I've had something horrible like this happen, but try installing it in Windows Safe Mode, maybe that would help. Keep in mind that Safe Mode is really retarded for installs and is more for fixing problems. But it's worth a shot...

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2008, 01:55:31 pm »
I've tried the above, and still no luck...

*Sighs*

Zakyrus

  • Entity
  • Magical Dreamer (+1250)
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • "Bouncy, bouncy, bouncy... --!!"
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2008, 02:53:36 pm »
Backup everything on your computer and reformat?  :lol:
Probably an extreme measure, but sometimes...

"extreme situations require extreme measures" -Daniel Laruso, Karate Kid III

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2008, 03:46:11 pm »
Azure, do you have XP 32 or 64 bit?

--JP

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2008, 06:08:26 pm »
jsondag...  My answer is no.

I'm running Vista.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2008, 07:45:02 pm »
Oh I thought you were XP based off this post:

Quote
I have XP.  When downloading the different kinds of 2.0 I get these errors:

2.0 x86 - Error - product already installed

2.0 x64 - Error creating process <C:\Users\Azure\AppData\Local\Temp\IXP000.TMP\Install.exe>
              Reason: C:\Windows\System32\advpack.dll

2.0 IA64 - Error creating process <C:\Users\Azure\AppData\Local\Temp\IXP000.TMP\Install.exe>
              Reason: C:\Windows\System32\advpack.dll

Do you have vista 32 or 64 bit?

--JP

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2008, 07:50:01 pm »
my processor is "AMD turion 64 X2..."  So I assume 64?  xD

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2008, 08:12:03 pm »
my processor is "AMD turion 64 X2..."  So I assume 64?  xD

Hopefully :)  just so you know you can click the startbutton => right click computer => properties and it's under System Type.

ok I believe the issue might be that you installed .net for a 32 bit operating system.  Judging from your previous post:

Quote
2.0 x86 - Error - product already installed. 


x86 == 32 bit (yea...confusing...)

First off have you tried running in compatibility mode? 

RIght click TF => properties => compatibility tab => choose 32 bit operating system.

Another option is to uninstall the 2.0 32 bit and install the 2.0 64 bit.


--JP

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2008, 08:40:57 pm »
The 64 bit isn't working either....  And i'm not seeing the compatibility tab...

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2008, 10:25:43 pm »
Hrm...on not at work anymore but on my XP machine there's a compatibility tab so and for a sample exe file at work there was a compatibility tab (I'm not brave enough to install TF at work yet...).  You right clicked Temporal Flux.exe and went to properties.  There should be a bunch of tabs at work the upper left tab was compatibility.

When you say the 64 bit isn't working do you mean the install or you installed it and TF doesn't work?

--JP

 

Azure

  • Chrono Trigger + Crew
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2008, 10:39:19 pm »
the install...  I'm starting to think I will have to either reformat...  or somehow find XP and dual OS this lappy.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Temporal Flux Woe
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2008, 10:49:53 pm »
You don't see the compatibility tab, and what is the error while installing?

--JP