Author Topic: Tech Editor - Period  (Read 22113 times)

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2008, 04:27:49 pm »
Two things:

- Going into the properties window adds an extra set of data on exiting, except for when the x is clicked at the top.
- Could you add a way to directly edit the 12 byte data? It would save some time over using a hex editor for the unknowns.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2008, 09:57:17 pm »
New Release:

Filter smc files
Better Window Name
Can edit all bytes of Tech Properties, they are listed as unkonwns:

New Commands:

Command 26 XX YY - Load animation XX Frame YY
Command 71 - Hide Sprite
Command 70 - Show Sprite
Command 61 XX YY ZZ - Pallete Morph Unknown commands
Command 1B XX - Load Sprite at location XX

Can now open up the following techs
Cyclone
Slash
Lightning2
Luminaire
Aura
Provoke

I can add more if people can figure out where tech animations Sound Graphic data begins and end for the rest of the techs.

EDIT:

Oh yea I forgot the most important add on for this release, Using CL's byte length table from a couple pages back the program now divides everything up based off the BYTES.  That means you will only be editing parameters rather than the actual commands themselves.  So before the hex

AA 20 AA 20 7C

would be parsed as (AA is an unknown command, 20 XX is pause and 7C is weapon slas):

Unknown (AA)
Pause(AA)
Pause(7C)

But now it'll be parsed correctly as

AA(20)
AA(20)
Weapon Slash


This feature is the reason I decided to open up the tech editor to more than just Provoke.

--JP
« Last Edit: February 06, 2008, 10:52:54 pm by jsondag2 »

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2008, 10:57:05 pm »
Sweet. I won't need as much hex editing now. My eyes thank you.

Small glitch -  The bar at the bottom say "Using xx animation bytes Sound bytes."

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2008, 11:04:46 pm »
Oh yea,

Whoops

After looking at other techs I don't think there is a "Sound/Graphics" dedicated section they just happen to put it near the end most of the time.  Or there's a way to "call" a sound function (like arbitraries) in fact I think that's what the 24 XX command is. 

Just glancing through this (not to toot my own horn) it definately is alot easier to see stuff....Glancing at slash i'm thinking the A9 command might be movement.

Don't forget if you guys can get me start/end of animation/sound graphics I'll add more techs ASAP

*Updated link to show mirror
-
-JP

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2008, 02:50:32 pm »
I fixed a bug I found today.  I'm not sure if CL's lis skipped one or if I accidently skipped a command but all the commands were off by one.  I've fixed it now though.

--JP

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2008, 03:57:35 pm »
Updated.

Could you label the header bytes for the knowns? It would help double check and find any inconsistencies.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2008, 05:00:28 pm »
Sorry not sure what you mean by that.

--JP

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2008, 05:28:04 pm »
Say for HitPercent1, at the bottom have it display "Hit % least significant (Byte 4)."

At this point I wouldn't want to rule out anything as completed.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #23 on: February 07, 2008, 05:41:43 pm »
Ohhh sure, definitely, In the code it still has the "byte 4" label i didn't realize it wasn't in the GUI.

--JP

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #24 on: February 22, 2008, 08:26:21 pm »
The next version could benefit from a revert tech to default for after we screw things up.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #25 on: February 24, 2008, 04:47:20 am »
I didn't get the revert to original in this release but that is something I'd like to eventually add......heck I'd like to add an Undo.

However onto the release:

If anyone has a cool little icon for the upper left corner let me know. 

surprisingly Haste led me to decode most of these commands:


===========================================================
Reorganized code, easier to add commands and loads faster
Selecting tree from decoded view scrolls to point in hex view and vice versa
Put bytes of Tech properties in their names
New Interface
Keyboard shortcuts

Added Commands
12 XX:  Send to XX:  XX = 0, caster? XX =1, PC + 1 XX =2 PC + 2, XX = 3 target XX = 4 target + 1, C seems to be target

72 XX:  Facing:  XX = 00 North 01 South 02 West 03 East 0D= face target???



85 XX:  Sets Sprite Facing to angle XX. 0 degrees is directly east, angle moves clockwise
      Example:  In Haste within the "clock sprite" code there's 85 C0 which moves the clock sprite straight up

A8 XX:  Set speed...inverse so lower number = Higher Speed, speed seems to be default at 0 so anything here is also "move sprite"
      Example:  In Haste inside the clock code the speed of the clock is slow at first and then Fast by this command


33 XX:  Place Sprite at top of screen above XX, XX = 0: Caster, XX = 3:  Target, 1 = Caster + 1
      Example:  In Haste inside the clock code, arbitrary 2 (called for clock coming down) there's 33 03 which places the sprite above target

Switch 24 XX to be Start Section...i'm not sure why I thought it was Enemy White before

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #26 on: February 24, 2008, 05:42:32 am »
Nice. Many improvements in this version.

The mirror has been updated.

In the properties window, values that change something and an unknown bit don't label which unknown.

Edit: The option to add unknown values seems to be missing.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2008, 05:48:24 am by Mauron »

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #27 on: February 24, 2008, 06:11:03 am »
Oh crap....Sorry, and fixed

--JP

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #28 on: February 24, 2008, 06:38:46 am »
The Unknowns are getting cut off for me now after "Unknown".

Mirror updated.

Agent 12

  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Tech Editor - Provoke
« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2008, 06:46:51 pm »
New Version:

Copy/Paste Nodes!! (Cut Coming Soon)

Revert Tech:  A copy of the tech is made when you Load a new tech from the drop down menu, as long as you don't load a new tech then you can change the tech as much as you want and then do revert tech

Fixed the unknowns from being cut off

Redid Tech Choosing Code for easier extensibility

Fixed Bug allowing you to write beyond your allowed bytes

Change BG color cause my eyes were hurting

--JP