Author Topic: Completed: In game loading.  (Read 669 times)

Shinrin

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 487
  • Chrono Trigger Fan # 100
    • View Profile
    • Shinrin Cole
Completed: In game loading.
« on: October 22, 2007, 04:07:42 pm »
I've been working on a way to make in game loading to work, I think i finally figured it out. This function is still in beta stages.

Here's how it'll work:

Instead of bringing up the Save game function right away, a text box comes up, and ask you if you want to save or load your game.

if you pick save, the game will then bring up the save screen, and you can continue on like normal.

Now if you pick load, It will give you a warning in red text saying that once the load screen is up, you can't continue the game. Then will give you a choice to go ahead to the load screen or just cancel it out.

Now if you choose yes to go to the load screen, the game goes back to the title screen event, and will not play the mode 7 part, and will take you directly to the load screen, then you can choose a new game or continue a save game like normal.

now for that to work, I put in a new if statement in the title screen area.

If 7f0061 = 3
|_ SpecialDlg Load

I tried going with 7f0061 = 2 but when the game is powered on, that memory address is already set to 2. ;)

anyway since my code is not right now for everything else (it works, but not correctly) i won't post it until i get it right.

Then i'll get down to the nitty gritty of things, and add this function to all the save spots of the game and release a unheader patch. ;)

Picture of how the warning text looks like (might change how it reads.)



The feature working in game.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2007, 02:41:26 am by Shinrin »

Geiger

  • Guru of Life Emeritus
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Geiger's Crypt
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2007, 09:11:57 am »
Too bad there's no way to cancel out of the Load Saved Game screen.  Getting back to the previous Location would be easy.

---T.Geiger

Shinrin

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 487
  • Chrono Trigger Fan # 100
    • View Profile
    • Shinrin Cole
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2007, 01:20:59 pm »
Yeah, That's why i put in the warning screen, that way if you do accidentally go down to load, it gives you a second chance.

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2007, 12:21:16 am »
I learned at romhacking.net that CT actually has a built-in reset function. (L+R + Start + Select).
This does save some time by skipping the pendulum.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2007, 12:28:22 am by Vehek »

Arcane

  • Earthbound (+15)
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2007, 07:50:36 am »
I learned at romhacking.net that CT actually has a built-in reset function. (L+R + Start + Select).
This does save some time by skipping the pendulum.

Didn't all of the major SNES games have this?

Geiger

  • Guru of Life Emeritus
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Geiger's Crypt
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2007, 10:27:59 am »
No.  It was common throughout Square games, and later other companies started using it also.

---T.Geiger

sage

  • Iokan (+1)
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2007, 11:03:04 am »
Yea, the feature is actually known as soft reset.  It was even available past the SNES and on some PlayStation games as well.  However, it is still only done on a few games.  Though I guess it's not a big deal to me cause the new games I play are on the x-box, and that lil green button on the controllers works just as well lol

Shinrin

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 487
  • Chrono Trigger Fan # 100
    • View Profile
    • Shinrin Cole
Re: In game loading.
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2007, 02:05:56 am »
The hack is now completed using Geiger's TF 2.55 :D yay!

Edit: found one slight bug. XD

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: October 27, 2007, 02:24:08 am by Shinrin »