Author Topic: Graphics Hacking  (Read 56123 times)

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #360 on: April 30, 2009, 02:49:47 pm »
Edited the Neo Epoch slightly.  Some of it looked like it was rickety so I changed the shading slightly to make it seem more smooth and stable.  I might have messed up in a couple spots though.

Edit: I just mirrored the left side to the right side, so...if ignore that tidbit there X_x.

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #361 on: April 30, 2009, 02:58:37 pm »
oh crap i missed the lower right too :-/ whouldn't be a problem though there's a ridiculous amount of extra space from the old epoch to the neo epoch (currently I haven't even started to edit the second tileset).

--JP

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #362 on: April 30, 2009, 03:05:54 pm »
Vehek, do you remember if the palette applied to the Epoch is consistent across all overworld maps? I.e., does it always use palette "x", shift "y"?

So far there need to be palette changes to: (Updated per JP's observations)
All overworld maps (minus Zeal at night)
Chronopolis hangar
End of Time
Flying into Chronopolis

What kind of map was used for the Missile scene? Was the Epoch loaded as an NPC sprite there?
« Last Edit: April 30, 2009, 03:12:47 pm by FaustWolf »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #363 on: April 30, 2009, 03:08:25 pm »
well we'll also need tileset palette hacks for chronopolis hangar, end of time epoch, flying into chronopolis, and the missile cutscene (the last two probably are the same palette)

--JP

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #364 on: April 30, 2009, 11:27:51 pm »
OK i updated the first post to add the plethora of work we got ahead of us.....it's a bit overwhelming. 

I think i should probably take over inserting the King Zeal enemy to lessen the work load on chrono 99, he's just got way to much. Chrono'99 it looks like you've inserted the King Zeal enemy already (though we couldn't do animations), do you have the enemy already  broken down into tiles or even an IPS patch of that so I can grab it and stick it in the SA editor?

For palette stuff.....FW i have you down for that cause you mentioned it once :) Do you think you can investigate that and figure it out? 

--JP

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #365 on: May 01, 2009, 03:41:56 am »
just wanted to post this real fast. I added some small tweaks I wish I would have had while on the plane, like a way to mirror a frame of your choice (just choose the frame then select mirror frame) and a shortcut to toggle  the "mirror" checkbox. 

It seems like I had already fixed the "section" selection but..either that or suddenly i can't repro it (i ran into it alot on the plane though).    This also has a few more frame names in the drop down I just add them as I go now we are up to 93. 

I'll probably be using this version to insert the King Zeal enemy tomorrow.
 
--JP

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10797
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #366 on: May 01, 2009, 04:11:47 am »
Unless the right side has to be mirrored to the left, the right side should not have a headlight:


Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #367 on: May 01, 2009, 04:14:00 am »
Yea i mentioned above that i messed up the bottom right chunk.  I'll take care of it later.

--JP

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #368 on: May 01, 2009, 06:13:23 am »
I think i should probably take over inserting the King Zeal enemy to lessen the work load on chrono 99, he's just got way to much. Chrono'99 it looks like you've inserted the King Zeal enemy already (though we couldn't do animations), do you have the enemy already  broken down into tiles or even an IPS patch of that so I can grab it and stick it in the SA editor?

I had the sprite done for Size 3 but it's not compatible with Size 2 so we have to redo it. The tiles also aren't compatible because we have to cut them differently as said in http://www.chronocompendium.com/Forums/index.php/topic,2829.msg156959.html#msg156959


Do we know how to decompress overworld palette? We might be kind of at a deadlock if not ( :()
« Last Edit: May 01, 2009, 06:15:34 am by Chrono'99 »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #369 on: May 01, 2009, 06:27:49 am »
Hrm.....i was thinking we were using the same graphics packet and just spreading it across multiple enemies. I'll reinsert the graphics this weekend.

I don't know how to decompress the palettes...at this point I would rather go with epoch getting a paint job to not put in the new tileset would almost be criminal at this point.  I don't think it should be too hard to figure out what's going on though...there's only so many decompression algorithms i think everything in the game is huffman.....i could totally be making that up I feel like i've seen it somewhere.

--JP

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #370 on: May 01, 2009, 06:33:31 am »
All the King Zeal/Flames enemies definitely fit in the same graphics packet, but the tiles are cut differently compared to the original Size 3 King Zeal. It's shifted down a bit on the "grid" to fit in Size 2 and a few tiles of knees are left out.

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #371 on: May 01, 2009, 03:16:35 pm »
Ah I see now I should be able to handle this.  Are these flames new or already in the game?   I'm actually kind of excited to get this guy in here!

--JP

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #372 on: May 01, 2009, 04:04:20 pm »
Decompressing the palettes is a piece of cake, it's just like the graphics packets. I had to do that for Zeal at Night. I have a spreadsheet that tells all the overworld palette addresses, in fact it should be in the Background insertion tutorial. If not, I'll update it with the overworld palettes. I'll work on the palettes this weekend. I might need to alter a few colors if the recompressed palette is larger than the original palette though, that's the only problem.

Getting the full-size palette Epoch changed should be a quickie, but I'm not sure offhand which palette shift in an overworld is typically used for the little Epoch sprite.

Speaking of the little Epoch, was an actual "overworld Epoch" used for the missile scene or is that an NPC sprite?

If you guys feel crunched by graphics insertion needs, I'd be happy to pitch in after May 12.

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #373 on: May 01, 2009, 04:07:25 pm »
It was an NPC sprite.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #374 on: May 01, 2009, 04:14:33 pm »
Aha, okay. Do we know which sprite index it is? Like NPC #xx?