Author Topic: The Mapping Thread  (Read 42453 times)

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #75 on: August 02, 2006, 06:27:03 pm »
Chrono 99', thanks for taking the bullet buddy.....I think we can all agree that caves are the worst tileset.

--jp

nightmare975

  • Architect of Kajar
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3264
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #76 on: August 02, 2006, 07:09:59 pm »
Still that looks freaking awesome! :D

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #77 on: August 02, 2006, 11:48:20 pm »
Wow I just looked at the .png (I was at work earlier), that really is awesome job 99.  Just remember to give me both .flux files at the end and thanks for fixing up the events too. 


--jp

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #78 on: August 04, 2006, 10:46:05 am »
I have a bunch of Flux files... I hope it's not confusing. The biggest change I've made is the map, but I also had to change some coordinates in the events because of that. I also added some sound effects to the Lebniz/Ayla scene (*monster scream* *punch* *woman scream* :) ).


There's the Location Map (for the 4 "rooms"), plus the Events (3 files since 1 of the location has 2 "rooms")...

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 10:49:48 am by Chrono'99 »

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #79 on: August 04, 2006, 10:47:59 am »
...then a patch for the Exits of Location {18A} (since the wall is now a big sculpture), and finally a patch for the tileset (I modified the priority of one tile).

That's a lot but I tried patching everything to a new ROM, and there shouldn't be any problem. Just apply all 6 files.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 04, 2006, 10:51:26 am by Chrono'99 »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #80 on: August 04, 2006, 12:24:50 pm »
Good stuff.  Since your already looking at the event codes maybe you want to do your riddle?  It's going to be the Nu in the "Kajar Magic Lab".  I'm pretty sure he's object 8 but it shouldn't be hard to find?  You can leave the text blank but can you make the answer kajar......if your feeling really not lazy make it kajar or Kajar.

--jp

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #81 on: August 04, 2006, 03:47:36 pm »
jsondag - sent you a PM re: 17C's tile properties.  Hopefully that was the info you need.

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #82 on: August 04, 2006, 04:07:27 pm »
hm....I'm still having issues with it.

Attached is a patch of the rom.  I added a new NPC to the debug room (go to fridge and hit ABXY) it's janus he's further south then the others.  This will take you to Crono/Magus/Glenn Reptite story but more importantly to the map that is giving me issues.

After the initial fight if you walk west you'll go to location {17C}.  Here's where it gets screwy, at first Crono walks on top of everything (even that damn rock), but if you walk around far enough/long enough (I think ou have to get so far to the south west that the rock is off the screen) Crono walks BELOW everthing (Even that damn rock if you walk back to it).

--jp

[attachment deleted by admin]

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #83 on: August 05, 2006, 04:56:29 am »
Here's the Nu's riddle. I put Kajar, kajar and KAJAR as possible answers.

For location {17C}, the only difference between the 2 spots you mentioned is that one has Sprite Over L1/L2 "False" and the other has "True" (in the tile props window, not the left menu stuff). If you put True to all the walkable tiles (including the "rounded corners", but probably not the tiles which are under the tree) then Crono will be above everything.

Also, since most tiles in the tile swatch are present twice (one with priority and one without), an alternate solution is to use only the tiles with no property when you make the map.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 05, 2006, 05:01:08 am by Chrono'99 »

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #84 on: August 05, 2006, 10:22:13 am »
The thing is those two spots are the same spot.   When you first enter the room he's above everything.  Then you start walking around and if ou walk far enough to the south west (sometimes ou have to just walk in circles for awhile), Chrono walks below everything.  Even if ou walk back to the exact same spot where you entered the room he'll walk below the rock that he initiall walked above.

Also excellent job on the riddle

--jp

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #85 on: August 05, 2006, 03:23:37 pm »
Yeah that's what they are currently, but if you change the Sprite Over L12 things to True this problem should be resolved.

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #86 on: August 05, 2006, 05:10:22 pm »
....I must be missing something (probably something really obvious).

I have the two tiles for the top part of the walk set to sprive over L1/2 to False because I want him to be behind those tiles (atleast when he comes from the North).  However when the room first loads he is still standing on top of the rock (wrong).

But when you walk around the map for awhile (or a certain distance I think the rock has to be off the screen) Crono starts walking BELOW all the tiles.  If you walk back to the rock that he was initially walking on top of he is no walking below it.  The exact same tiles.

I'm pretty sure I have sprite Priority set correctly....the top of the rock is set to false the parts directly below the rocks are set to true (so his head doesn't go behind the rock).  If you can get it working please make a .flux file, Of if you prefer you can use the patch that I'm just about to post in the latest patch thread and make a whole new patch.




--jp


Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #87 on: August 05, 2006, 05:14:59 pm »
Oh I was the one missing the point actually. In my mind it was just a matter of putting True to everything, but I didn't thought about the rock. I'll try to get it to work (if I actually can ehe).

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #88 on: August 05, 2006, 05:18:56 pm »
Yea the rock is causing an awful lot of problems.....I suppose it's not a huge deal just thought it'd be a nice detail.  Good luck, careful though cause this map started driving me up the wall after awhile haha.


--jp

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Maps that can still be worked on
« Reply #89 on: August 05, 2006, 06:04:53 pm »
Done. I changed some tiles to no-priority tiles to make sure it works. And Sprite Over really wasn't enough, so I resorted to just right-click on another map on a tile that works, and "pasted" it over to this map. I'm not sure but I think the good setting must be Solidity Mod=1 (either the name is confusing or it's not that).

I moved the left rock too because it was too close to the tree (you can't have at the same time a part Crono under the tree and the other part of him above the rock).

*Fanfare* We won this battle :)

Oh and does this location has a name yet? It's a kind of Truce Canyon but I think changing the name would be better (I have no idea though... yet).

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 05, 2006, 06:06:56 pm by Chrono'99 »