Author Topic: Memory MAP  (Read 72022 times)

Chickenlump

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #30 on: January 12, 2006, 02:49:24 pm »
Yeah, I remember those values, I never bothered posting them though.

When I found them, I poked around in the RAM for other addresses overworld related.
(Overworld Map = push select map thing)

7E001C - Overworld Brightness
7E0020 - Overworld Map centering (left to right position)
7E0026 - Overworld Map centering (up and down position)
7E002C - Overworld Map stretching (left to right)
7E002E - Overworld Map Diagonal stretching
7E0032 - Overworld Map stretching (up and down)
7E0045 - Overworld Map color oddity (00 - off/01 - on)
7E0046 - Overworld Map background Stretching (or something)
7E0119 - Location Screen Brightness
   07 - pause value
   0F - normal value
7E0121 - Screen color overlay (color value overlays Layers 1 & 2 only)

JLukas

  • Fan Project Leader
  • Squaretable Knight (+400)
  • *
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #31 on: January 25, 2006, 09:07:13 pm »
7E0110 - Set bit 01 to disable menu access

Location 007 is one example of a location that uses this.  At the beginning of an event, look in the startup for "Mem.000110 = 01"

fxar99

  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 232
  • Oh how I wish to dream again...
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #32 on: January 26, 2006, 10:39:54 am »
I'm not sure whether somebody has already mentioned it. To find out what time period you are in (if you are in a place accessible from every time period, like the Black Omen), you can use this code.
Use : Time
7F01A8 & 02 : 12000 BC
7F01A8 & 04 : 600 AD
7F01A8 & 08 : 1000 AD
* Must look for the values of the rest time periods *

Anonymous

  • Guest
Memory MAP
« Reply #33 on: February 01, 2006, 03:46:38 am »
7E0110 - prevents players from pausing the game

Anonymous

  • Guest
Memory MAP
« Reply #34 on: February 01, 2006, 03:47:23 am »
7E0111 - prevents users from pausing the game

Heh...   >_<

fxar99

  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 232
  • Oh how I wish to dream again...
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #35 on: February 01, 2006, 07:56:39 am »
What's the difference between these two? And... What is the value needed to prevent pausing the game?

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10795
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #36 on: March 03, 2006, 06:33:08 pm »
Adding something before I add to the encyclopedia:

Finally, it appears memory range 7F0020-7F004F (48 bytes) is extra space reserved for additional treasure chests. It would be possible to use this as memory expansion space similar to the empty item inventory slots, provided you don't plan on creating more treasure chests that could potentially conflict. You could, for example, use 7F0030-7F004F for your own purposes, leaving 7F0020-7F002F for treasure chest expansion (127 slots, which is obviously a lot)

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10795
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #37 on: March 03, 2006, 07:49:22 pm »
I have added everything in this thread (except stuff already in the original offests by Geiger) to a new text file.

http://www.chronocompendium.com/Term/Memory_Locations

But that doesn't seem to be preserving tabs I used in some places in Textpad; the raw text can be found at

http://cc.herograw.org/Black/Other/Offsets/memoryvalues.txt

Chrono'99

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #38 on: April 12, 2006, 11:21:45 am »
Does anyone know the memory address for the battle mode (active/wait stuff)? It seems it's not in the list yet.

Chickenlump

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #39 on: April 12, 2006, 02:28:36 pm »
7E2990 seems to be it (8X for Wait, CX for Active), this address also holds the value for Battle Speed, where X is the battle speed.

Chrono'99

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Memory MAP
« Reply #40 on: April 13, 2006, 06:08:09 am »
Cheers. It works perfectly.

Chickenlump

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Re: Memory MAP
« Reply #41 on: April 23, 2006, 10:19:54 pm »
7E21A2 - Crono's Palette (2 bytes per color).

7E1EF0 - Song Instruments used in current song

« Last Edit: April 23, 2006, 11:04:08 pm by Chickenlump »

Chickenlump

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Re: Memory MAP
« Reply #42 on: April 28, 2006, 02:43:26 am »
28771 - HDMA Shading colors in ROM (while I have it fresh in my mind).

I found it in ROM once before, but I forgot to write it down. >_<

This is for Menu Shading. Just play around with it (note the pattern, try to stick with it... )

After playing around with it, I've gotten it to shade different layers (just the text, the character's portraits...) seperate layers, or over all layers at once!

It seems to be Color, then layer, then color, then layer, then color...
CC (color) DL (direction of shading(style)/Layer?)

CC DL CC DL CC DL CC DL etc...

7E9DE8 (or so) in RAM

It's easy to mess with it in RAM to get neat effects first, then try modifying the ROM to match.


I know, I'm stuck on this subject.  :?
I'm looking for just the right shade of .... red... for something.... >_>

 :lee:




« Last Edit: April 28, 2006, 03:47:16 am by Chickenlump »

Vargose

  • Chrono Trigger Threads of Time
  • Guardian (+100)
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Memory MAP
« Reply #43 on: April 28, 2006, 10:18:50 am »
We need to make this topic sticky. Its one of the more important.

Chickenlump

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 327
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Re: Memory MAP
« Reply #44 on: April 28, 2006, 01:54:41 pm »
Mmmmm... sticky......


Dialog HDMA colors are at about 7F1520 in RAM. It looks about the same as the menu colors, for the most part.