Author Topic: Stuck on a few things.  (Read 2449 times)

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1763
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2023, 12:14:24 am »
Are you using the hack I included in Fiendcrafter for enemies?

By default compressed packets are assumed for NPCs and enemies prior to Magus/R-Series, and later enemies and PCs are assumed to be uncompressed.

The hack in Fiendcrafter does an index check that can be altered.

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2023, 01:19:54 am »
It says any enemy can be uncompressed, but I need to be able to add new uncompressed graphics so I can give the pcs alternate appearances.

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2023, 03:29:54 pm »
You were right. I was doing it backwards

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2024, 10:22:07 pm »
@Mauron were you ever able to figure out why the game crashed when leaving Crono's house after beating the game with the wingless Epoch?

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1763
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2024, 06:14:40 pm »
Just got around to testing it, but couldn't recreate it. I'll do some more tests later though.

Edit: Got it to happen. The first time I used the Lavos gate between the first and second stage and it didn't lock up.

Edit 2: Epoch status isn't getting cleared properly. Manually clearing it still has some bugs though.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2024, 03:15:14 am by Mauron »

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2024, 01:15:37 am »
What kind of bugs?

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1763
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2024, 02:26:23 pm »
Graphical ones when moving. Anyway, I found Chrono Trigger's existing fix for this.

In the {1D0} End of Time events, at [0585], there's an If(Mem.7F00AB & 80). You'll want to copy these to part of the ending code, probably in the ending selector.

For the Mem.EpochMap, I'd set that to 0x1F0, and set 7E0290 and 7E0292 (X and Y coordinates) to a location near Crono's house.

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2024, 12:25:56 am »
Yup that worked. I only needed to do the first part since I designed the EoT to always have the Epoch there once it's acquired.

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #23 on: February 19, 2024, 08:36:42 pm »
Just a dumb question. Is the temporary memory range the entire 7F02xx range?

Zakyrus

  • Entity
  • Magical Dreamer (+1250)
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • "Bouncy, bouncy, bouncy... --!!"
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2024, 01:56:54 pm »
Just a dumb question. Is the temporary memory range the entire 7F02xx range?

7F0200(used often for temporary variables in the game)... Often times this is like when the game uses that assignment for"found whatever item in a chest"and then it sends the item name string index to that as a pointer. Typically I'll use 7f 0 288 to 7F044 as my temporary variable range if I need one for that particular scene/event because most of the time those aren't ever used in the game as temporary variables of course it would be nice at temporal flux would have a variable check to see if a variable is already used in that cutscene or not would be very useful. 😎

Happy hacking as always! 🥳
~Z

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1763
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #25 on: February 23, 2024, 03:14:06 pm »
7F0200-7F03FF is all good for location specific values, but 7F0200 specifically is used for string values.

Zakyrus

  • Entity
  • Magical Dreamer (+1250)
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • "Bouncy, bouncy, bouncy... --!!"
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #26 on: February 24, 2024, 02:53:09 pm »
Oh, shucks I meant 7F02xx - 7F0344 range.

~Z

IHBP

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Chronopolitan (+300)
  • *
  • Posts: 379
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #27 on: February 27, 2024, 01:36:15 pm »
7F0200-7F03FF is all good for location specific values, but 7F0200 specifically is used for string values.
z

Ok thats good to know.

Zakyrus

  • Entity
  • Magical Dreamer (+1250)
  • *
  • Posts: 1351
  • "Bouncy, bouncy, bouncy... --!!"
    • View Profile
Re: Stuck on a few things.
« Reply #28 on: March 02, 2024, 10:12:55 pm »
Yeah usually use some kind of number like 7f0266 if it's not used on that scene use that for get coordinates x and then 7f 0268 for y--again, if it's not used and-- then use your other temporary availables higher than t(hat if they're not used of course....)

 I actually think there's a specific variable for get x and get y (for when the first player steps on any coordinate..)

. I'll dig this up later I'm almost to the position to be able to start making some plugins myself I would love to top off the rest of the (variables of the..)game so we can make ANY engine out of it!

Not that SNES is strap for frame rate but I think whatever the default values for get x and get y are(I'm pretty sure Denadoro mountains one of the maps uses it it's pretty close to 7f 0216 I think)... Anyway I think those values actually make it render a slightly bit faster than if you use any other value but that could also have depended on the scene size...

Happy hacking as always!
And for your progress I am starting to cry a thousand gods of sorrow because now I got to start working again to catch up haha! 😎😭
😭

~Z
« Last Edit: March 02, 2024, 10:16:53 pm by Zakyrus »