Author Topic: An art project (sort of)  (Read 1347 times)

Kitt

• Earthbound (+15)
    • View Profile
    • Forever Dreaming, my anime cel gallery
An art project (sort of)
« on: December 30, 2020, 10:01:26 pm »
I am not an artist (like Prince Janus – go look at his post.  I can wait til you come back).   :wink:

You're back?  Good.  Where were we?  Oh, yeah, not an artist...  I cannot stress this enough.  I wish I could draw, paint, sculpt, pretty much any sort of visual art, but no.  I have zero skill in this area.

I very much appreciate visual arts, however.  This can be attested to by my anime cel collection, most of which can be viewed here:  http://foreverdreaming.rubberslug.com

There's a thrill when you hold in your hands one of the many pieces of art that flashed so quickly in front of a camera to produce an anime you like. This was an expensive hobby that I can't maintain, which is probably for the best as most anime are produced via electronic means now, so hand-painted acetate cels are a thing of the past. 

To clarify – all of the images in my cel gallery (minus the two fan cel sections and the 'Crystal's Art' section) are actual professional, production cels or precursor sketches used to create various anime shows I like.  I did not paint them.  I bought them over time from reputable cel dealers. 

But, as I fell in love with this art form, I had to give it a try myself.  What I paint are FAN cels.  They are not intended to be confused at all with PRODUCTION cels, which are the 'real' ones collectors prize. The cool thing with fan cels though, is one isn't confined to what is available in production cels.  So much animation is now produced either mostly or entirely through virtual means that there are no productions cels, and sometimes, not even production sketches (sniffle!)