Author Topic: Argh!!!!  (Read 3609 times)

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Argh!!!!
« on: March 12, 2018, 07:02:45 pm »
Ok so I have an iMac and I'm trying to play Crimson Echoes. The problem I'm having is that every emulator I download it won't open because it doesn't recognize the developer. Has anyone ever played CE on a Mac? If so, how did you you do it? I've hit a wall here and it's so frustrating. If it can't be done I'll have to wait until I get my SNES down here and buy it in cartridge form. Ugh!!!

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 07:05:54 pm »
You'll probably have to follow these instructions.

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 07:23:38 pm »
OMG THANK YOU! It worked!! Question though, what are the controls! Ha ha!

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2018, 07:30:33 pm »
You should be able to set the SNES buttons to keyboard controls, or a gamepad if you have one.

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2018, 07:56:47 pm »
I found the controls! I'm all set, thank you so much!!

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2018, 10:14:24 pm »
I just have to say the last couple of hours have been so fun for me! Iím so happy to be able to play this game! I am curious though, do I need a zSNES emulator? I believe that is not the one I found but it seems to be playing fine on it. Thank you so much again, Iím so happy to be playing this finally!!

Boo the Gentleman Caller

  • Guru of Life Emeritus
  • Hero of Time (+5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 5165
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2018, 10:18:24 pm »
If my memory serves correctly, if you don't use zSNES, the game will freeze at a certain point and be unplayable.

I could be wrong, though. It's been nearly a decade since I played it, hahaha...

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2018, 06:59:30 am »
Awwww man! And I just looked up zSNES and it gave me a bunch of documents... Iíll have to putz with it I guess.... ugh!! I was hoping it was just going to be an easy download. The emulated I found and was using was Emu. I like it, it was really easy, but I donít want the game to freeze on me!

Boo the Gentleman Caller

  • Guru of Life Emeritus
  • Hero of Time (+5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 5165
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2018, 09:11:33 am »
I mean, I could be wrong. Like I said, my memory on it is hazy.

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2018, 10:07:44 am »
Well then perhaps I will test this out and see. XSNES I canít even download because itís only for windows. I did download the Linux version of zSNES because I have a Mac, but that might be why I have to download so much other stuff for it to run. We shall see!!

chrono.source

  • Architect of Kajar
  • Enlightened One (+200)
  • *
  • Posts: 264
  • Chrono Source (CT Prequel) Creator
    • View Profile
    • Chrono Source - A Chrono Trigger Prequel
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2018, 11:30:26 am »
I'm pretty sure I had to dl SNES9X for FoE, maybe it is the same for CE

Boo the Gentleman Caller

  • Guru of Life Emeritus
  • Hero of Time (+5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 5165
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2018, 12:30:56 pm »
So this had my concerned, as I didn't want to give bad advice...

Based on what I found here...
https://chuckro.livejournal.com/315898.html
...It's best to use ZSNES for minimal impact. But you can play on SNES9X, just be aware you'll have to switch emulators at a certain point, and then switch ti back.

Quote
Q: Can I play this on SNES9X?
A: Yes, but you have to switch to ZSNES for one specific cutscene, and youíll want to be cautious about saving in general. When you return to Chronopolis from the ďnighttimeĒ Zeal visit, save and switch at the Chronopolis save point. SNES9X will freeze when you talk to Belthasar. Also, near the end of the game thereís a girl in the Truce mayorís house whoíll offer to tell you about time travel. Both emulators will freeze if you listen to her explanations. (This is optional, so just donít talk to her.)

There's quite a bit of good info on the FAQ, so keep it in mind... just be wary of spoilers! :)

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2018, 01:53:25 pm »
I canít use the SNES9x. I looked at that one and itís only for Windows. ZSNES says itís for Mac, but it wants me to download a ton of stuff to run it. The closest thing I found was Linux. Iím going to continue using my current emulator and if it starts giving me problems then Iíll figure it out from there. Iím hoping it wonít but it probably will Iím guessing. Oh and thanks for the link, Iím saving that as that will help me out!

Mauron

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • Nu-chan
    • View Profile
    • Maurtopia
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2018, 02:30:42 pm »
SNES9x has a Mac version. I generally prefer it over ZSNES, which has a few emulation bugs and hasn't been updated in years.

PrincessNadia78

  • Chronicler of Time
  • Acacia Deva (+500)
  • *
  • Posts: 544
  • I didnít ďpick upĒ anything! Itís common sense!
    • View Profile
Re: Argh!!!!
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2018, 03:46:09 pm »
Thank you, I will try that! I tried so many versions of zSNES and the closest I got is one that could run the game in a small window and I couldnít make the window any larger and I couldnít do anything with the game either. Iíll let you know! Thank you so much everyone for being so helpful!