Author Topic: Mistranslations in the article 'Translated Text (CTP)'  (Read 1361 times)

bluesun

• Iokan (+1)
    • View Profile
Mistranslations in the article 'Translated Text (CTP)'
« on: February 03, 2015, 03:26:37 pm »
Hi!

I came across this site's wiki from Legends of Localisation, and as a translator myself, couldn't help noticing that there seems to be all sorts of mistranslations scattered about the first page I saw.

I thought I'd tried to fix them up in-place, but it seems there's no way to create an account...

So, I thought I'd make a list and put them here. I also emailed the same list to the address on the Links page.

----------

Section: Dopple-doll Destination

* "Put your dopple-doll in your room, okay?" is mistranslated as "Your dopple-doll has been sent to your room."
'kazatte ne' in the text implies the person being spoken to should take the action, not that the speaker will.

Section: Yakra's Plan

The first line of the last box appears to have been missed. The first line also seems to have acquired a tense in English that seems odd in comparison with the rest of the text.
I would suggest fixing it to the following:

Gyahehehehe......

You've been wonderful hostages.
 I thought I'd use you as my trump card, but now the
 situation has changed due to some extra interference.

It's unfortunate, but I'll have to kill you here.

Whether you consider the second change worth applying is up to you.

Section: Ending Text

* "Will Crono and company be able to get back safely to their own time periods..!?" is mistranslated as "Crono and company are safe, but can everyone get back to their own time periods...!?"
Oddly, in the very next block of text, the translator handles the exact same construction fine, so I don't know how she slipped up here...