Chrono Compendium

Kajar Laboratories - Fan Works and Submissions => Chrono Trigger Modification => Topic started by: TheMage on January 30, 2019, 05:00:48 pm

Title: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: TheMage on January 30, 2019, 05:00:48 pm
How I would go about giving a monster new abilities. For example say I'd like to give reptites the ability to do fire magic. If there's already a guide to this I missed it.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: Mauron on January 30, 2019, 05:47:42 pm
AI editing is currently a pain. I'm working on an AI editor, but I need to finish some changes with my AI code (https://www.chronocompendium.com/Forums/index.php?topic=12783.0). I know there's a bug with confuse, but that may be the only one at the moment.

AI documentation (https://www.chronocompendium.com/Term/Enemy_AI.html)

All conditions are 4 bytes in length, but some are just padded to that length. Actions within a condition can cycle, or be randomized.

Sample AI:

Code: [Select]
Default: (00 00 00 00)
     SwitchStates (FE)
     Attack Random PC with Attack 1 (01 00 05 00)
     Tech Fire on farthest PC (02 ?? 07 00 00 00) (Too lazy to look up an actual fire index)
     SwitchStates (FE)
SectionEnd (FF)
Default: (00 00 00 00)
     SwitchStates (FE)
     Wander (00 00 06 04) (Not very clear on this one, but it's a common enemy reaction pattern).
     SwitchStates (FE)
SectionEnd (FF)

Without the AI patch, AI must be in the 0x0C0000-0x0CFFFF range. My AI patch will allow data to be placed anywhere in the ROM.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: TheMage on January 30, 2019, 07:10:18 pm
Ahhh! I see! That is tedious but I think I understand it. xD thank you!!! (I'll prolly wait for your AI editor - im not even making a hack at the moment anyway, just trying to expand my knowledge)
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: Mauron on January 30, 2019, 07:29:01 pm
Yeah, it's a pain right now. Give my AI patch a try, see if you notice anything off in a vanilla game (besides confuse breaking things at the moment).
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: IHBP on January 30, 2019, 07:29:45 pm
I noticed slow had no effect on enemy x14 even  if their immunity to it was removed.

And I cant say for sure but I think the updated patch spread this to other enemies, I will verify and report back sometime soon.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: Mauron on January 30, 2019, 07:40:53 pm
Previously you had mentioned Confuse with enemy 0x14, not slow. Are there problems with both?

Confuse makes sense for a bug, since that switches the AI loaded to the Confuse AI routines. Slow should not be affected by my changes.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: IHBP on January 30, 2019, 07:57:15 pm
Yes both, at least from my observations.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: IHBP on January 30, 2019, 08:09:08 pm
I'll test it further tomorrow.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: IHBP on January 31, 2019, 12:09:53 pm
Ok so I thoroughly tested it both with your latest patch and a completely vanilla rom on regular in game enemies, and it seems the slow effect from the Sonic Arrow has never actually worked. :o

Edit: so for the tests I gave the Kilwalla (an enemy naturally susceptible to all status effects)16000 hp then engaged the group in prehishory, I confused one and shot a second with the sonic arrow repeatedly. I did this both with your patch and otherwise complete vanilla,  they all continued to attack at the same frequency.

The only difference was how confuse was altered by the AI patch.
Title: Re: Explain to me as if I were five...
Post by: Mauron on January 31, 2019, 12:32:57 pm
I found a couple issues relating to confuse, and that should be sorted shortly.

I'll take a look at the Sonic Arrow thing. It should be applying Slow 60% of the time.