Chrono Compendium

Kajar Laboratories - Fan Works and Submissions => Chrono Trigger Modification => Topic started by: Mauron on July 25, 2018, 11:30:35 pm

Title: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Mauron on July 25, 2018, 11:30:35 pm
(https://i.imgur.com/2L00RCT.png)

Has anyone seen something like this before, and is there a fix?
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Acacia Sgt on July 26, 2018, 12:17:33 am
Huh, where exactly is that? I can tell it's one of Guardia Castle's towers, but not which one, or if the time period matters.

Hmm, can't say I've ever see that happen. Lower-left seems to be a King Guardia sprite (no idea if XXXIV or XXI), but not sure if that means anything.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Mauron on July 26, 2018, 12:31:16 am
It's the King's tower in 1000 AD. It probably has something to do with my attempt to make the king replace Crono, but I wanted to remove other possibilities.

Edit: Fixed the issue. I had to place my memory hackery after the Return in Startup/Idle.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: IHBP on August 01, 2018, 11:08:15 pm
I've seen instances where the return is in the middle, I never understood the point of it.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Mauron on August 01, 2018, 11:46:34 pm
Return seems to delay certain code in the Startup/Idle section, but I don't fully understand it.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: IHBP on April 22, 2019, 02:53:51 pm
Trying to find the topic where you replaced Crono with king Guardia, would like to put that to good use.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Mauron on April 22, 2019, 06:10:48 pm
Here's location events for the King's tower with playing as the king. The king is slow as fuck, running animations get wonky, and opening the menu causes issues.

Object 9 handles most of the magic. It loads the King sprites, mucks with some RAM values.

7E1100 + (object index * 2) Object type. 00 for PC, 80 for unused. Disable the PC you replace.

7E0197 PC1 Object number * 2. 7E0199 and 7E019B for PC2 and 3.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: IHBP on April 22, 2019, 06:41:29 pm
Cool thanks.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: IHBP on April 24, 2019, 05:47:00 pm
Ok so assuming I'll always have a party of three when this is activated and only want to control I NPC I should have 7E0197-99-9B all set to double the number of the object ( in my case object 13 so 26)?

Here's what my setup looks like now.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Mauron on April 24, 2019, 07:33:45 pm
- Only change the 7E019x values for PCs you're replacing. If you're changing a party of 3 to a party of 1, either remove the other two PCs, or add commands to deactivate the rest of the party and set unused slots to 80.
- The GetObjectCoords/Facing is only necessary if you want to traverse between locations. It will properly reinitialize the NPC to sprite locations.
- 7E1112 is for working with object 9. Use 7E1126 for object 13.
- Pay close attention to where I placed the return command in that sample. Too much ahead of it causes the weird sprite glitch mentioned in this topic.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: IHBP on April 24, 2019, 08:08:21 pm
Yup that did it. Just gotta put on the finishing touches now.

And thanks again.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Redline57 on June 11, 2019, 02:22:28 am
Thats the finger from Double Dragon i think?
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Mauron on June 11, 2019, 02:38:23 pm
That's the finger from Chrono Trigger in yellow.
Title: Re: Weird sprite glitch.
Post by: Zakyrus on June 14, 2019, 04:19:27 pm
I've seen instances where the return is in the middle, I never understood the point of it.

I've come across this before...
From what I can tell, it seems to halt certain Commands (the End much like Return, closes the statement, both are simular). From a 'micro-controller stance'(I've been doing alot of Arduino/RasPi stuff in recent years), its like read a PIN(in this case Command or load the Objects), then GOTO the next PIN(in this case Return in the Object0's Startup/Idle), then from there read the next PIN(continue reading in the next commands), this might have something to do with the Original Cartridge(e.g. Microcontroller PINs) having to read/write in a simular way and has some 'oddball' constraints.

This might also have something to do with those types of Sprites that use a goto_loop (such as repeat animating sprites) and those need to be read in as such.

~Z